Skip to content

Getting real…

October 9, 2009

I can hardly believe that we leave for San Francisco NEXT WEEK!  EEEEEEE!  I swear I’m such a ball of emotions that one minute I can hardly contain my excitement and the next minute my stomach is “crunched up” in fear.  I have to admit that I’ve been heavy on the negative self talk this past week and I have been “what if-ing” myself like there is no tomorrow.  What if I can’t do it?  What if all of my training was for nothing?  What if I get all the way out to San Francisco and the “slow bus” has to pick me up because I’m not going to make the time limit?

In addition to the negative self talk, I’ve also been eating like crap.  My last three dinners have been quickly thrown together after a run where I’m basically eating bits and pieces of things in the pantry or refrigerator instead of taking the time to actually make a meal that would be much more satisfying.  I know that the two are very closely related, because when I’m not feeling good about myself I make poor food choices.  I’m not saying that every meal has to be perfect, since I like to think about the journey to a healthier lifestyle as “progress, not perfection”, but I know that I need to make more of an effort to consume food that is good for my body.

I know that I can do this!  I can eat the foods that my body loves and that I can finish that darn marathon!  I also think that I needed to admit that there is a problem (negative thinking and poor food choices) because that’s always the first step towards fixing it, so I’m thankful that I can come here and vent my fears and frustrations and have wonderful support from my blogging friends out there 🙂

Carl is up in New Hampshire this weekend (he left Thursday night) for his cousin’s bachelor party and he took the camera so he could have pictures of the trip.  I have to admit that while I’m glad that he took the camera, I felt a little lost when I handed it over to him.  We do have an older camera that I’m going to try using tomorrow, so please bare with me if the pictures are more horrible than usual, lol.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

