Skip to content

Running is hard!

October 9, 2009

Running this week has been pretty darn difficult!  I swear that the few days we had cooler temperatures made this past week seem even more horrible than usual because it’s been HOT!

Wednesday night Kristin and I went for a run after she finished tutoring near my house.  I was feeling hungry when I got home from work so I ate one of the Larabars that I won from Paige’s giveaway a few weeks ago.  Oh my was it good, but I don’t think I’ll be eating them again since it didn’t sit real well during my run.  I think I’ll stick to Clif Bars or sandwich thins with almond butter as my pre-run snack.

IMG_3329

We left at 6:30 pm and it was so hot out that I just couldn’t catch my breath.I just felt like I couldn’t come close to filling up my lungs with enough air so there was a lot of walking going on.  I also ran with my Camelbak and instead of just having water I added the Camelbak Elixir and it was awful!  I kept burping (sorry, TMI!) and just felt so full and like I still wasn’t hydrated enough.  I can only imagine how thirsty Kristin was because she didn’t have anything with her and she still managed to kick but on the run.  When we got back to my house it was 7:30 pm and we only ran four miles! It took me an hour to run four miles! That’s slow, even for me!  After Kristin left I checked the weatherchannel.com and saw that it was 87 degrees out, but felt like it was 98 degrees! Holy Cow!  No wonder we had such a horrible time!

IMG_3331
Me and Kristin after our super sweaty run

Stats:
Distance –
4.24 miles
Time –
58:18
Pace –13:45’/mi

Yesterday after work Kristin, Hilary and I went up to Town Center to run some errands and get some last minute things for our trip since we are leaving on Thursday.  We had a great time and I’m so thankful to have these ladies (and Rachel, Sharon and her friends) with me in San Francisco.  They are such a wonderful source of support and while we will all need to be pumped up for the marathon, I can’t think of a better group to have this experience with.

When I got home I chatted with my MIL, who was in town for the evening since she had some work to do in Jacksonville today, and I was really itching to go for a run.  I felt bad that I didn’t get to spend more time with MIL, but since our original plan was a girls run after we did our errands, I think I just wanted to get out there.  I also think that I was excited to try out the new SPIbelt that I ordered on Tuesday evening to carry my camera during the marathon. I knew I would need something and since Caitlin gave it such a great review I decided to take the plunge and try it out.  I’m pleased to say that the run was so much better than Wednesday, probably because I left the house around 7:00 pm and it was dark when I returned home.  I swear that I ate about six or seven gnats, though.  Yuck!

The SPIbelt also totally rocked! When I opened the package I’ll admit that I didn’t see how this thing would hold much of anything since it comes “unexpanded” when you get it (ie. the picture online shows the pack fully expanded, as though it has a shape of it’s own).  I put it on and was pleased with the comfort of the strapping and was really surprised that even after I put my phone in it (Carl has the camera so I couldn’t test that) you couldn’t really tell that I had a “fanny pack” on because it really is quite small.  I have a really short torso so I think I like things waaaay down on my hips, so when I put the SPIbelt where I want it, it does move up a little but it wasn’t so bad that I was futzing with it the entire run.  It certainly didn’t bounce at all and I think it will be perfect for my camera during the marathon NEXT SUNDAY!!

This time I put G2 in my Camelbak and it was so much better – totally what I’m using during the marathon.  I was still sweaty as anything when I got home, but it felt good to get out and do my thing 🙂

Stats:
Distance –
3.00 miles
Time – 37:23
Pace – 12:28’/mi (2:30 run/1:00 walk)
Best pace –
9:30’/mi

Sunday is my last long run before the marathon – only six miles!  I still can’t believe that next week we’ll be in San Francisco!  Nike Women’s Marathon here we come!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 11:55 pm

    Looking forward to reading about your experience in the Nike HM. I would love to run it, it’s in my backyard, but the hills intimidated me and I want to have a good experience for my first HM. At some point though I’d like to tackle it. Good luck. So cool you have some friends to run it with.

    • October 10, 2009 8:08 am

      Thanks, Lisa! I’m pretty nervous and still don’t know what I was thinking when I signed up for the full marathon. Oh just one click of a button and I think I’d feel less nervous about the whole experience. I guess I figured if I was going all the way out there I should go big, lol!

Leave a Reply

