Skip to content

What a great Saturday!

October 10, 2009

While I miss hubby like crazy (he’s been in NH for his cousin’s bachelor party since Thursday), I’m really enjoying having the house to myself and spending time with Bradley.  The TV hasn’t been on since Thursday night when MIL was here watching it and it’s been bliss!  Admittedly I should be watching the Gators whop up on LSU (fingers crossed!) but I can silently cheer and check the score on ESPN.com and be just as satisfied.

This morning I had an appointment to get my haircut and brows waxed before we headed to San Francisco on Thursday (!!!!) and I’m happy to report that I’m loving the cut and have two separate brows now.  I swear there is just something about having freshly manicured brows to make me feel better about myself 🙂  It’s probably because I have some seriously bushy brows when they go too long between waxings.

For breakfast I was craving something salty, so I decided to make some scrambled eggs with cheese, added some ketchup and plopped them on a baguette.

109_1324

I love these little baguettes that we get from Costco!  They come in a bag of six and we freeze two of them in little baggies and take them out when we want to use them.  This is much better than having a giant loaf of fresh bread in the house because I could eat the whole thing!

On my way home I decided to give Hilary a call to see if she was up for a trip to the outdoor outlet mall.  Luckily she was able to get out of cleaning the house (thank you Mr. R!) and joined me in shopping for a few things for our trip.  She totally hit the jackpot in Gap, and I picked up a two shirts from J.Crew and a fleece vest from Eddie Bauer.  I still needed to get a few more pieces so she and I parted ways and I went on to the indoor outlet mall and found a few things at Loft.  I swear I love that store!

109_1326

My loot in a lovely, reusable bag

While I was at the mall I got HONGRE so I decided to get some lunch at Sbarro.  I was really wanting a sandwich or something, but there are only three places in the indoor outlet mall to choose from – pizza, greasy Chinese, or the place where everything is fried.  I opted for a giant slice of white cheese pizza with an apple juice. I guess it could have been worse, but since I was craving pizza I was happy to have a slice rather than the whole pie and eat it for several meals.

109_1325

When I got home I sorted through all of the stuff that I got today and pulled a few other things out of my closet that may work and think that I should have enough layers to be warm enough in San Francisco.

109_1328

I’ve been told that the weather there, even when the same temperature, is much colder than it is here in Florida.  I’m hoping that I’ll be warm enough without bringing my giant coat, so we’ll see.

I caught up on a few blogs this afternoon and decided I still wanted a sandwich so I went to Publix to get a sub for dinner and ended up coming out with a few other goodies to go with it.  I love having something crunchy to go along with sandwiches, probably because my mom always had chips to go along with them when I was growing up.

109_1330

Carl told me how he’d tried some Alexia chips yesterday so when I saw these I knew I had to try them too. I was pleasantly surprised to see “onion strips” when I opened the bag and they truly did not disappoint!

109_1332

I knew that eating all of this stuff straight out of the bag and dip out of the container would NOT be a good idea for me, so I unloaded everything onto a small plate and put everything away.

109_1333

I’m really glad that I did because by the time I was satisfied I still had two chips and a little dip left on my plate – along with some of the veggies from my sandwich.  I know I should have tried to eat them, but to be honest I usually end up picking off a lot of veggies when I get a sub.  I think I’m a sub purist and just enjoy the bread, meat and cheese – haha!

109_1334

After dinner I took Bradley for a nice walk, dug into the giant pile of laundry and downloaded some new tunes for my last six mile “long run” before the marathon!  I’m so excited to run to my new tunes!  I will tell you though, that I’m simply amazed at some of the things that people write songs about – and what they really mean when you look them up on Urban Dictonary!  Good grief!

Well, off to sleep so I can wake up at a decent hour to run in the crazy Florida humidity in the morning.  Boo!  Where is our fall weather?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 11:30 pm

    That pizza looks pretty much perfect 🙂

  2. October 12, 2009 7:03 pm

    You totally inspired me to convince Matt to go out and get Publix subs for lunch yesterday. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

