Skip to content

Where oh where is my grading fairy?

October 11, 2009

After breakfast I took a much needed nap and slept for two hours!  Apparently I needed the nap even more than I thought.  I probably would have slept longer but I needed to go to the running store to get a new Fuel Belt pouch since my SPIbelt wasn’t going to work to carry the camera in.

When I got to the running store I was a little freaked out to see that they didn’t have the small Fuel Belt pouch that I wanted.  All they had were two larger ones and I didn’t think either of them would work.  The lady working told me that they had just received a shipment in and everything would be put out later this week, but that just didn’t work for me.  I opted to get one of the larger pouches once I realized I can fold the bottom part back and stitch the sides closed to make it smaller.  I think it will work just fine and once Carl comes home tomorrow night (yea!) I’ll see how small to make the pouch and let you all see how it looks.

After the running store I went to Whole Foods to pick up some dog food for Bradley.  While I was there I got a few things that I’m sure you’ll be seeing in my lunch this week 🙂  I was hungry on my way home so I decided to dig into an Apple Pie Larabar since I liked the last one that I had.  I was also feeling a little dehydrated from my run so I washed it down with a Mango flavored coconut water.  Yum!109_1346

When I got home I made lunch, Whole Foods chicken salad with Stacy’s Pita Chips and some roasted red pepper hummus.

109_1347

I tackled lots of laundry, cleaned up the house and started packing for San Francisco.  I’m still feeling pretty overwhelmed with making sure that I have everything for the trip, but Hilary is fabulous at making lists and Sharon has actually emailed the group with what she plans on packing!  I’m so thankful to have such wonderful friends and I know once I make a list of my own I’ll feel a lot better.

My dinner tonight was shameful – and totally single food.  I had a bowl of cereal and bread with cream cheese.  Ack!  I know that carb loading before a marathon is good, but I’m thinking that it should be on whole grains and not overly processed white bread – haha!  I can’t wait until Carl comes back tomorrow night!

This week I’m going to focus on keeping myself on top of things as much as possible.  I made my lunch for tomorrow (chocked full of veggies and fruit!) and have plans to stay after school to finish up the grading that I didn’t get to this weekend (where is my grading fairy when I need her?!).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2009 11:21 pm

    I am a horrible packer and always have to make a list and even then I still manage to not bring enough or I forget something. I live in the Bay Area and I can tell you it WILL be cold in the early morning hours when the race starts so pack and dress accordingly. Rest and eat well this week.

    • October 12, 2009 7:02 pm

      thanks for the tip, Lisa…I can’t remember the last time I was in 60 degree weather and what the really feels like.

  2. October 13, 2009 7:27 pm

    I hope the fuel belt works for you! You’ll have to let us know how you like it. Your chicken salad sandwich looks good!

    • October 13, 2009 10:28 pm

      I didn’t actually get the belt, just the pouch. Hopefully it will work! I’m going to try it out tomorrow but I’m going to bring the SPIbelt just in case!

      • October 14, 2009 6:08 am

        I’m would bet money (if I did such a thing) that SPIbelt will be at the expo and they’ll have tons of them for you to buy there…if you’re still interested. I think they’ve been at every expo I’ve ever been at.

Leave a Reply

