Skip to content

We’re back!

October 20, 2009

I can hardly believe that after 21 weeks of training for the Nike Women’s Marathon is OVER!  San Francisco was absolutely beautiful and we had an awesome time.  I’m going to do a recap of each day so you all can see what we did and how the marathon went.  I took a ton of pictures and even carried my camera during the run but after looking back I really wish I would have taken more pictures (yes, more!).  I guess you never can have enough pictures of a big trip like that 🙂

2009 Nike Women’s Marathon Trip Recap
Thursday 10.15.09

I woke up at my normal time so Carl could take me to Kristin’s since she was driving everyone to the airport.  She finished getting ready and made us egg and cheese breakfast sandwiches while we waited for everyone to arrive.  Around 8:45am Hilary arrived and we started packing the car and then Rachel go there and we left for the airport.  We parked in the economy lot and waited for the shuttle to pick us up.

Kristin and Hilary

Kristin and Hilary

Rachel, me and Hilary waiting to board the plane to Las Vegas

Rachel, me and Hilary waiting to board the plane to Las Vegas

Our flight took us to Las Vegas where we had a 30 minute lay over before heading into San Francisco.  Although I knew there were slot machines in the Vegas airport I was still surprised to see them there and so many people playing them!

IMG_3414

Eventually we made it into San Francisco and I was so thankful because we spent nearly all afternoon either waiting for or in an airplane!

Rachel, Kristin, Hilary and me on the Super Shuttle to take us to our hotel

Rachel, Kristin, Hilary and me on the Super Shuttle to take us to our hotel

After what seemed like forever on the Super Shuttle, we finally arrived at our hotel.  I have to admit that I was surprised at the location of our hotel because it said that it was in the Financial District but it was really in Chinatown.  It was still a beautiful hotel and I was thankful for our wonderful room with a great view that was only a 15-20 min. walk from Union Square, which is where the Expotique was set up.

Expotique tent

Expotique tent

Sign in front of Macy's

Sign in front of Macy's

IMG_3432

Nike Women's Marathon Wall

Look how big it is!

Look how big it is!

I found my name!

I found my name!

We were really hungry so instead of going straight to the Expotique we decided to get some food.  While we were wondering around Union Square we stumbled across a protest/rally for President Obama who was in town!  We stood around for a little while before deciding to once again find some place to eat.  Rachel asked a random flower vendor for a recommendation to eat dinner.  We settled on Lori’s Diner which had a cute 50’s/60’s feel to it.

IMG_3441

We were all craving onion rings so we decided to order some for the table and share it.  So cute how it came out!

IMG_3442

I swear that I have the most random pictures of food since we went way too long between times that we ate so I was starving most of the time and forgot to take pictures or took pictures of half eaten food (bad food blogger!).  For dinner I had the grilled chicken taco salad with veggie chili.  It was so good!

The Expotique was still open when we finished and we all got our second winds so we decided to go pick up our race packets and check it out.  I’d read a lot about past Nike Women’s Marathons and one of the major complaints that people had was how disorganized things were and how crowded the Expotique was.  I have to admit that since we went multiple times while we were there (Thursday being our first time) I got to see the progression from really awesome to really busy on Saturday afternoon/evening.  If anyone decides to do this race in the future I would highly recommend on going to the Expotique as early as possible if you want to avoid any crowds, although there are 20,000 people running the race each year so I’m not really sure what people expect…Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures from inside the Expotique!  I can’t believe that I didn’t take any, but they had a mani/pedi station set up, a smoothie station set up where you had to bike to mix it, places to get some food and a stage they set up so people could listen to guest/motivation speakers.  It certainly wasn’t your traditional expo where you could buy stuff (like Fuel Belts etc.), but it was pretty fun and girlie.

Anyways…we entered the Expotique to pick up our packets and walked around quickly before heading back to our hotel for a wonderful night’s sleep.

Getting my stuff

Getting my stuff

Rachel and Hilary with their smoothies

Rachel and Hilary with their smoothies

As we walked past Niketown we had to snap a picture with this sign.  So awesome!

We are runners!

We are runners!

Day two recap tomorrow!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 8:52 pm

    yay I want day 2 recap now! SO fun! Congrats!

  2. October 20, 2009 9:32 pm

    Looks like a great first day!

    I too was shocked by the gambling in the LV airport! LOL

  3. October 20, 2009 11:02 pm

    So cool. Looks like you had a lot of fun. Looking forward to day 2 recap.

Trackbacks

  1. All about food! « From 5k to Marathon
  2. Teacher workdays rock! « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

