Skip to content

2009 Nike Women’s Marathon Trip Recap – Day Two

October 21, 2009

Friday 10.16

We had so many things planned to see and do while we were in San Francisco that we were all pretty happy that we woke up fairly early to get the day started.  With four of us in the room it did take a while for us to get ready, but eventually we made it out of the hotel room and set off to find breakfast.

IMG_3447

We settled on a little shop that we found while we were exploring Thursday called Bread & Cocoa.

Best place EVER!

Best place EVER!

They had all kinds of different food options for breakfast and lunch, but I settled on the steel cut oats with their topping bar – including brown sugar, raisins, yellow raisins, and milk.  I also had some chai with soy milk and it was seriously the best cup of chai that I’ve ever had – totally beats Starbucks HANDS DOWN!  It was a giant tub of oats and I barely made a dent in it but it was so good!

Yum!

Yum!

IMG_3450

IMG_3451

After breakfast we walked up to the cable car stop at Powell and Hyde and rode it down to Ghirardelli Square.

IMG_3457

"You are here"

"You are here"

IMG_3462

We made our way to Ghirardelli to sample some chocolate and watch the chocolate machines do their thing that makes their chocolate so darn yummy!

IMG_3465

IMG_3467

IMG_3471

We walked around, going in and out of several little shops and found this super cute tea room called Crown & Crumpet.  I swear if we had more time we totally would have had some tea there!

IMG_3477

IMG_3480

While the girls went into another shop I bought some water and had a small luna bar that we picked up from the Expotique the night before.  I swear I was so thirsty the whole time that we were in San Francisco, probably because of all the walking we did while we were there!

IMG_3481

After Ghirardelli Square, we started walking toward Fisherman’s Wharf and saw people on a Segway tour.  I can’t even imagine riding on one of these down those crazy, steep hills!

IMG_3483

We decided to take a short detour into the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park that had beautiful old ships that you could take tours of.  We decided to skip the tours but really enjoyed walking along the street and taking pictures of the docked boats.

That's a big wheel!

That's a big wheel!

Kristin and Hilary

Kristin and Hilary

IMG_3493

IMG_3496

IMG_3501

When we go to the Park it was still pretty foggy, but as the sun rose the fog began to burn off and we were able to see the Golden Gate Bridge come to life.  It was so cool!

IMG_3509

IMG_3510

We continued on our walk and reached Fisherman’s Wharf.  I am totally not into sea food, but it was still neat to see all of the super fresh sea food.

IMG_3517

IMG_3518

IMG_3519

While we were walking we passed Boudin Bakery which piped the smell of fresh baked sourdough bread out onto the street.  It was like heaven!

IMG_3521

The story of sourdough

The story of sourdough

I swear that while we were in San Francisco it was a lot warmer than we anticipated and I was so HOT in my long sleeves that I had to make a pit-stop into the GAP for a short sleeved shirt.  I think that because of a cold front that came through, Florida was actually COLDER than it was in California the first two days we were there!

Eventually we got to Pier 39 and stopped at the Boudin Bakery to eat lunch.

IMG_3531

I had the half veggie sandwich and tomato bisque in a bread bowl.  Yes, I love my bread!  Although I didn’t eat it all 🙂

IMG_3534

IMG_3535

We were all excited to see the sea lions, in all of their glory, basking in the sun.  I swear that you could smell them before you could see them but they were so cute and LOUD!

"I'm so pretty"

"I'm so pretty"

Look at all the sea lions!

Look at all the sea lions!

After we saw the sea lions we walked all the way back to where the cable car dropped us off to have Irish coffee at The Buena Vista.

A very strong coffee drink. I don't think I'll be having an Irish coffee again...

A very strong coffee drink. I don't think I'll be having an Irish coffee again...

Cheers!

Cheers!

Got foam?

Got foam?

Kristin’s friend Sara, who lives in San Francisco, met us there and then took us to Golden Gate Park – where we thought we’d see the Golden Gate Bridge.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with San Francisco, YOU CAN’T SEE THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE FROM THE PARK!

IMG_3557

In hindsight it was pretty funny, but we were pretty bummed when we realized that we weren’t where we wanted to be.  Sara took us to see Haight-Ashbury, which was a very interesting walk through the park and down the street where we saw lots of “hippies”.

Where the 60's started

Where the 60's started

Sara was nice enough to drop us off at Union Square so we wouldn’t have to take a cab from the park.  We went back to Niketown, wrote on the wall inside the store, and shopped around.

Go Team!

Go Team!

We all ended up with something – Kristin and Rachel bought shirts while Hilary and I bought sweaters and hoodies.  I am really glad that we bought stuff that night because when I went back the next day with Sharon, the selection was picked over and only random sizes were left.

I love this shirt!

I love this shirt!

We went to the giant Old Navy to get some shopping in and we asked someone for a recommendation for a place to eat.  A woman asked us if we’d gone to the Mission yet (we hadn’t) and since we were just a 10 min. BART ride away we hopped on the subway and off we went.

IMG_3573

By this time it was dark and we really didn’t know where we were going so we stopped into the first restaurant we came to.  It was pretty good, but not really what we were looking for, so that was a little disappointing.  On our way back to the hotel we came across this little Gyro shop where we shared a chocolate chip cookie and Hilary got a Gyro.

So.Good

So.Good

At this point it was nearly 11pm (so it was 2am Florida time!) and we were exhausted.  For some reason the hotel key kept deactivating and after three trips down to the lobby and nearly 45 minutes later a guy who worked in the hotel brought us a key so we could get in and get some much needed sleep!

So.Tired.

So.Tired.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 12:09 am

    Looks like you had a great time. Sad to day but you’ve been to places I’ve never been and I’ve lived in the Bay Area all my life. So pathetic. Where is your race report?!?!?!?!

    • October 22, 2009 6:41 am

      I know! I know! It’s coming! The recaps take me quite some time to write and insert pictures and I’m SO TIRED that it takes just about everything out of me to do one. Hopefully tonight I’ll have it done 🙂

Leave a Reply

