Skip to content

Turning over a new leaf

November 4, 2009

So I’ve been totally sulking over here about how I can’t run, I’ve gained a few pounds since the marathon, I’m not exercising and I’m really over myself.  The last few days have been much better food wise since we’ve been following a modified version of the Clean Eating Magazine 14 day meal plan.  More importantly I’m ready to set forth a plan – a true plan, not just me saying I’m going to eat better and exercise –  to get myself back on the wagon instead of being dragged along behind it.

Before I left for work this morning I decided to make three changes for the remainder of the week:

  1. Drink 68 oz. (2 liters) of water
  2. Exercise for at least 10 minutes
  3. Track my food (and take pictures for the blog!)

I know they seem like really small changes, but I know they will help me get on the right track and seem attainable to me right now.  I think I tend to overwhelm myself with giant changes and then eventually give up because I’m feeling defeated or because I’m not being successful.  We’ll see how this goes for the remainder of the week and I’m already thinking about other changes to make once I feel like I have these under control.

Now onto the food!

I really love looking at/following the Clean Eating Magazine’s meal plans because they get me to try foods that I would often over look at the grocery store – like Wheetabix.  I’ve seen it at the grocery store for quite some time and never thought twice about it…until I saw that I was supposed to eat it for breakfast.  I was a bit skeptical since the “biscuits” look kinda like frozen breakfast potato patties, but they are actually really good!

This morning I had two biscuits with blueberries and soy milk in a partially empty cashew butter jar.  Oh Lordy was it good!

I’m sad to say that I don’t have any pictures of lunch today because I was STARVING and ate it before I realized I needed to take a picture!  I had a BH chicken breast sandwich on multigrain bread, 1/2 of a montana whopper from a batch that I made last night for Carl to take to a meeting this afternoon, and some grapes.

Today was early release and while it was a great day I was thankful when the bell rang and the students left.  I was feeling hungry so I had a slice of blueberry walnut banana bread (recipe from CE magazine).  Yum!

Hilary came to “grade papers” and we ended up chatting for about an hour.  It was so nice to catch up with her and I’m so thankful that I have such an awesome friend that I work with 🙂  We talked a lot about how we want to be healthier and faster runners (me once my foot heals!) and are considering CrossFit.  According our local CrossFit website,

…we specialize endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility, power, speed, coordination, agility, balance, and accuracy. This is functional movement training and core strenghting. The CrossFit program is designed for universal scalability making it the perfect application for any committed individual regardless of experience.

It makes me a bit nervous because I’ve heard that it’s a bit intense, but it’s worth a try if it really works.  Sometimes I focus on “losing weight” rather than “being healthy” and when I slip into that mindset it really messes with me.  Somehow it’s much easier for me fall off the wagon, and think it’s okay, if I’m focusing on being a certain size or weight rather than having a healthy body and awesome blood pressure – and my ultimate goal of getting off of my blood pressure medicine!

After Hilary left I had some of the left over grapes from lunch.

I had to run to Publix on my way home to buy some candy for a lab that we are doing tomorrow and while I was there I picked up these yummy looking eggplant slices.  I want to like eggplant so much, but I always find that it’s just too mushy for my taste.  Hoping that the breading would firm it up, I decided to try it out.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but when I opened the package I was a little surprised at just how much breading was on the little slices.  They are really easy to cook, though and I’m sure that I’ll be making them again because they were darn good!

Bradley kept me company in the kitchen while I cooked since Carl wasn’t home from work yet.

We had whole wheat pasta with sauce, garlic bread and eggplant patties.  When I had everything plated and ready to eat I realized that there wasn’t anything green on our plates and really wished that I had cooked up some asparagus that we have in the fridge.  Ah well.  Next time.

I’m pleased to say that I was able to meet my weekly goals today – I drank all of my water, exercised for 10 minutes and wrote down everything that I ate today.  Woo Hoo for progress!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nikki224 permalink
    November 5, 2009 1:29 pm

    I know exactly how you feel! I gained about 10lbs after I broke my leg and couldn’t run for 6 months and I’m struggling with it too. I’m not familiar with the Clean Eating 14 day plan. How hard are the meals to cook? (I’m really not a good cook at all). Is it reasonable for a single person? I find my biggest challenge is that a lot of times even when I cut a recipe in half, I have leftovers for days. Good luck with your changes!

  2. November 5, 2009 7:43 pm

    Ah, this is the new leaf….good for you.

    Do you keep water on your desk? I find that if it’s easy to grab and full, I can go through 2 nalgenes in a day. I usually just have one, however, and forget to refill at lunch, so find myslef dry at the end of the day. Sometimes I think I take a sip just because I’m waiting for the kids to …finish the page of notes, pass their work forward, ask me to come over for help…

    I’ve started taking Kiya out to the golf course behind our condo at sunset and have gotten brave trusting her off her leash. (So far she’s been great and she responds to my calls!) I find that sometime I’ll play chase and end up in full out sprints, coming home feeling like I just had a great mini-workout. Do you have any place to run Bradley (once your foot heals)?

    Two summers ago I lived in Tampa and I would see the CrossFit group on my 9 mile bike ride into downtown for work. I think CrossFit was really new then. The people in the class were always working there butts off! It appeared as though it was like having a small personal training class.

    Nice lab book! I always forget to look through mine.

    I hear you on the greens. Matt’s been after me lately to make sure there is always fibrous veggies at dinner to help fill us up. I really like the Steam Fresh veggies -they’re so easy and then I don’t have to worry about them going bad!

    How did day 2 go?

Leave a Reply

