Skip to content

Almost Friday!

November 5, 2009

I can’t wait for this weekend!  This weekend brings a wonderful mix of fun and relaxation – my favorite kind!

Today was fairly uneventful at work and my students seemed to enjoy the candy bar lab that we did during class today.  I managed to eat only two “fun sized” candy bars at the end of the day, which isn’t bad considering I was seeing and smelling chocolate all day today!

Breakfast was another new food discovery for me – a cinnamon raisin Ezekiel english muffin with a smidge of TJs peanut butter and unsweetened apple butter (that I added for some sweetness after I took a few bites without it on there).  Yum!  I can’t wait to try more Ezekiel products!

I was feeling especially hungry today (maybe it was the smell of chocolate?) so I had a snack during my 3rd period.  My old favorite, V8 and string cheese.

For lunch I had a spinach salad with Sabra hummus, cucumber, tomato, red pepper, and BH turkey.

I was still hungry after I ate this so I dug into a new (to me) treat – Clif Mojo bar.  Oh this was GOOD and did a great job at satisfying both my sweet and salty tooth.

After school I had some blueberries and fat free cottage cheese.

When I got home from work I knew we’d be going out to dinner but wasn’t sure exactly when Carl would be home, so I decided to be proactive and have a handful of trail mix containing dried pineapple, bananas, peanuts, raisins and cashews so I wouldn’t be starving and over eat when we got to dinner.

We went to the Japanese Steak House around the corner (Carl had a craptastic day at work today and wanted to go out to eat) and I got the double order of veggies with rice and noodles.  SO GOOD!  While I know this isn’t the healthiest meal, I was very pleased that I didn’t over eat and stopped eating when I was full.  Now I have yummy left overs for lunch tomorrow! MMMMmmmm…

After catching up on blogs and watching some TV I was feeling like I wanted some dessert and instead of going for an ice cream sandwich (low fat mini ones) I went for some strawberries which were totally satisfying and a much better food choice.

So overall, even though I ate a lot of food today I’m really pleased with how day two of “turning over a new leaf” went.  I even drank all of my water and did 10 minutes of exercise/stretching and LOVED it.

My friend Ashely and I are going to start doing Pilates after work on Monday and I’m really looking forward to it.  I’m also joining up with a few other ladies from work to start slowly training for a local half marathon in February.  Don’t worry, there will be no running until I can walk without pain/discomfort without my boot…but I can walk the distances for now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 11:51 pm

    Have a great weekend!

  2. November 6, 2009 5:33 pm

    Yea, I’m so proud of you for sticking with your new leaf!

    I love Ezekiel bread too! I rarely buy it though since I can only ever find it frozen.

    Did your lab have anything to do with plate tectonics?

    • November 6, 2009 5:39 pm

      Thanks! I know it’s only three days in (including today), but progress is progress and I am feeling better about my body so that is a plus!

      My Ezekiel english muffins are frozen too, but I just pop it in the microwave for a 20 seconds and then put it into the toaster and it works. Yum!

      No, my lab yesterday wasn’t on plate tectonics, although I am doing that one in a few weeks. It was on density and you had to take measurements (mass, volume and calculate density) of different candy bars and I used snickers, 3 musketeers, milky way and hershey bars. It was really great at demonstrating density because some of them got a density less than one so they had to really think whether or not they would float if we put them in water – and then today we tested them out. It was really cool! It’s from Brainpop but I can email it to you if you want to use it in the future.

Leave a Reply

