Skip to content

Barn dancing and BBQ

November 8, 2009

Yesterday was quite the busy Saturday, and I loved every minute of it!  I started off the morning meeting with some friends to discuss our training plan for 26.2 with Donna – but we’re doing the half marathon portion of the race. Rene, one of the women that I work with, decided to set up our group and her husband “Coach Dave”, who is a runner, set up a great 16 week training plan for us.

On my way out the door I had half of a PB Clif Bar.

My foot was feeling really much better since I got my pre-stress fracture from the Nike Women’s Marathon, so I decided to forgo the boot and try wearing sneakers with my green Super Feet insert in my right shoe.  It felt so good to be wearing matching shoes 🙂

We had a great meeting discussing our training plan and the goals that we each had for the race.  I’d like to say that I have a time goal, but realistically I really just want to have fun and end the race without being injured!

From there a few of us went over to a co-workers home who was hosting a purse/clothing party for one of her friends.  She had a lovely home and while I didn’t find anything, it was nice to visit with her for a little while.  On the way there I ate some crackers that Rene packed for us because we were starting to get hungry!

Later that night Carl and I went to a barn dance and BBQ to celebrate the marriage of his co-worker, Patty, and her husband, Jim.  Carl’s known Patty since he started working at his school nearly 7 years ago and I met her shortly after he and I started dating.  She is truly one of the most amazing women and we are both so happy that she found a wonderful man like Jim to share her life with.

The barn dance was at the Florida Agricultural Museum, which according to the website is

archaeological site of John Hewitt’s water powered sawmill, a fully restored 1890s pioneer homestead, a turn of the last century Dry Goods Store, five restored buildings from a 1930s Depression-Era citrus business, and a 5,000 square foot dairy barn formerly belonging to Governor of Florida, Millard Caldwell. All of these buildings were moved from their original locations and renovated with grant funds provided by the Florida Department of State, Division of Historical Resources.

It was perfect for Jim and Patty’s party because it was very simple and had plenty of room for all of their friends and family.

There was a giant bonfire which was perfect to roast marshmallows, although we didn’t have any lots of kids from their church did!

There was even a real country band, complete with a dance caller

The band played a few songs before a prayer was said and the food was served up.  Good ole’ BBQ!

After dinner they had “open mic” so people could sing songs that they’d written honoring Jim and Patty.  It was lovely.  Then they decided to do some line dancing.  Unfortunately Carl and I didn’t participate since I was afraid that I’d end up hurting my foot, but it certainly looked like a lot of fun!

Although it was a great time I was glad that it ended early and we were home before 9pm – and were in bed by 10!

Good times.  Good times.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 8:34 pm

    Hmmm, 26.2 w/Donna has always caught my attn too, but I think it’s right after Miami, so maybe next year?

    I think I want to Gate though – could I come stay with you? When is it?

    • November 9, 2009 8:47 pm

      26.2 with Donna is Feb. 21 and the River Run is March 13th. You are more than welcome to come stay with us for the River Run! I’m really excited about it because it was my first race, although this year I’m doing the 15K instead of the 5K.

      I’m also still toying with the idea of the Princess Half-marathon, but it’s the Sunday before the River Run. Nothing worse than a taper week during marathon training (running 13 one weekend and then 9 the next), but the bridges in the River Run are ROUGH.

      • November 9, 2009 8:54 pm

        26.2 is later than I thought…and I’ve thought about doing Princess too, OR I’ve thought about signing up to do Shamrock in VA Beach cuz it’s my birthday (March 21)…

        I don’t want to commit to anything yet. I don’t want to over-commit, lose interest, wear myself out, not be in shape, etc. Perhaps I’ll make a goal of deciding after the Marathon of the Palm Beaches at the beginning of Dec.

      • November 9, 2009 8:57 pm

        I agree! So far I’ve only signed up for Donna and am going to wait a little while before signing up for either of the others, although it’s pretty much a go for the Gate because it’s close and much less than the Disney Princess.

        Just let me know if you decide to do either of them and we’ll figure out the details later 🙂

Leave a Reply

