Skip to content

Tofu? Yes, tofu!

November 9, 2009

Although I didn’t want to get out of bed this morning, I wasn’t *exactly* sure what I was doing today so I figured I needed to get into work a little bit earlier than usual.  As I was getting ready I remembered that I was going to do an AIMS activity called “mini-metric Olympics” where the students go through different stations and participate in different events (ie. “left handed sponge squeeze”, “right handed marble grab”, “cotton ball shot-put”) using metric measurements.  It’s a lot of fun and is probably one of my favorites because I really get a kick out of seeing my students try to throw cotton balls and straws as far as they can 🙂

Before I left for work I had some yummy breakfast – two Weetabix biscuits in an “empty” TJs peanut butter jar with raisins and shredded coconut.

When I got to work, I saw that I had nearly all of the materials in my “storage room” (I love having a science lab!) except for the marbles, which mysteriously disappeared since I used them lab last year.  I had to improvise a bit and changed the “right handed marble grab” to the “right handed peanut grab” – haha!  Hey, ya gotta go with what you’ve got!  I think the students also enjoyed the lab, although I don’t think they enjoyed the “power conclusion” and graphs that they had to do for homework.

During 3rd period I had my usual snack of V8 with string cheese and I was so hungry when we got to lunch that I totally forgot to take a picture!  Horrible food blogger!

After work I was a hungry beast so I ate half of a mealy apple before tossing it and had two fun sized snickers.  I’m getting those out of my classroom tomorrow!

I had to run to the grocery store for dinner so I picked up a Sweet Leaf tea and dug around for a snack in my purse to tide me over.

Yes, these are left over from my trip to San Francisco three weeks ago!

I’ve been thinking about dinner tonight since last week(!) when we had left over pasta.  I wanted to try something a little different and was really excited to come across a recipe for spicy noodles and veggies that I adapted from Recipezaar.  We also had some cubed extra firm tofu in the fridge and Carl had an idea to pan “fry” them, so I found an awesome recipe (also from Recipezaar) for pan-fried tofu.  I was a little nervous about the tofu since I’ve never had it, let alone cooked it, before.  I’m happy to say that I really enjoyed the tofu in this recipe and I’m totally willing to try to incorporate it into our weekly meals.

Dinner was simply AMAZING!

Our noodles with spicy sauce and pan-fried tofu included:

  • whole wheat noodles
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 1 small zucchini
  • 1 block tofu, pan-fried
  • peanut sauce

After we served up our bowls I added scallions, crushed peanuts and a squeeze of lime.  Yumtopia!  I totally went back for seconds and we will definitely be making this again!

Tomorrow night Carl and I are going out to celebrate Kristin’s birthday!  I can’t wait 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 1:49 am

    I am a little skeptical of tofu – the one time I had it it was not very good although I hear it is all about how you cook it. This looks like a good way to try it though. What brand of tofu did you use?

  2. November 10, 2009 9:06 pm

    I’m so proud of you for trying tofu! I used to eat it all the time, but now I’m back to eating all meats and I’m skeptical about the soy debate…does that concern you at all with your thyroid?

    • November 10, 2009 9:13 pm

      Until my friend Brandy asked me about it this summer I never even knew that soy would be an issue since my GP never told me about it. I was consuming significantly more soy before, since I am lactose sensitive (no cows milk in cereal EVER, but I can eat cheese and yogurt in moderation) but have cut back to having it only a few times a week (if that) and try to avoid it in the morning so it doesn’t interfere with the absorption of my medicine.

      I did go to an endocrinologist this summer and expressed my concerns to him about the correlation between soy and hypothyroidism but he didn’t seem to be worried about it. I guess I could have gotten a second opinion but I decided to just have soy in moderation and leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

