Skip to content

Lovin’ lentils

November 11, 2009

I had a very relaxing day at home today.  It was wonderful to have a break off in the middle of the week, although I really don’t want to go back to work tomorrow.  Poor Carl had to work today, but I didn’t let that stop me from sleeping in until 7am – haha!

I wasn’t sure what to have for breakfast but I settled on two Weetabix biscuits in our last nearly empty jar of almond butter left over from our batch of Montana Whoppers.  Our bananas are still a little too ripe for my taste so I added some raisins and coconut and oat milk.

A few hours later I noticed my stomach was grumbling and when I saw that it was nearly 11am I knew why – it’s the normal time that I eat lunch at work.  Funny how our bodies are programmed by routines, isn’t it?

I spent the better part of the morning researching DSLR cameras since I’m totally experiencing camera envy since a lot of the blogs that I read have upgraded their cameras.  I don’t think that I’ll be getting one any time soon, unless Santa brings me a wonderful Christmas present!, but when the time comes I feel like I’ll be able to make an informed decision about the different lenses, cameras, etc.  The best website that I found to have the most comprehensive information on DSLRs and what everything means (focal length, f-stop, shutter speed, etc.) is this one, so if you are considering making the switch I’d definitely recommend it!

I still have a lot of research to do, but I’m thinking about the Cannon EOS Rebel XSi with the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens and the EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens that Caitlin recommended when I emailed her about the new lens that she bought yesterday.  Thanks for the advice Caitlin!  I am still open to ideas, so if anyone wants to share what they use/want/wish they knew before they bought something I’d love to hear it!

I decided to eat up some of our leftovers so I had some pizza from the other night along with some Alexia sweet potato fries that we had in the freezer.

(x2)

I wanted to incorporate more veggies/fruit into lunch so I made a green monster.  Oh green monsters, how I’ve missed you!

My green monster included:

  • 2 c. spinach
  • 1 c. oat milk, original flavor
  • 1/2 c. frozen organic blueberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • mango

I didn’t add any strawberries because I think I’m allergic to them! When I ate some the other night I noticed a funny tingling sensation right above my upper lip and had the same feeling the next day when I ate some strawberries with cottage cheese.  I’m so bummed about this because I LOVE strawberries and the allergy literally came out of nowhere! I guess it’s possible that I didn’t wash them well enough but I haven’t wanted to buy any to try another batch to see if it happens again.  Boo!

I finished about half of the green monster and decided I’d had enough to eat so I put it in the fridge to save for a snack later in the day.  I decided to catch up on some blogs so I took the computer upstairs and snuggled into bed and eventually fell asleep for about two hours.  I love days off!  When I woke up I was feeling snacky so I finished off my leftover green monster.

Ever since I had the lentil soup from the Cheesecake Factory for Carl’s birthday I’ve been craving it!  I looked up a recipe from allrecipes.com and found one that sounded good and decided to make it for dinner.  It wasn’t anything like the one from Cheesecake Factory but it was still really good.

I did make a few changes from the recipe, though.  Instead of water I added a combo of homemade chicken stock and Pacific chicken stock, fresh crushed tomatoes instead of canned, and I added ham.  I think they all added to the great flavor of the soup and I can’t wait to have it again for lunch tomorrow.

Today I’m thankful for those who have served or are currently serving in our military to protect our country. Thank you for all you do! Happy Veterans Day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 10:54 pm

    We got out Canon Rebel DSLR at cameraworld.com. VERY cheap around the holidays… cheaper than Costco. Check it out. I was a little leary about ordering and then possibly having to return but no issues whatsoever. Now I just need to learn how to use the darn thing on a setting other than one of the programmed ones lol.

    • November 11, 2009 10:56 pm

      Thanks for the tip on that website! I’ll have to check it out tomorrow 🙂

  2. November 16, 2009 9:33 pm

    Ah, I’m so far behind in your blog! I guess I’ve been out of town longer than I realized. So sorry to hear about the strawberries. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. The sound of the breeze « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

