Skip to content

Return to running

November 15, 2009

After nearly four weeks away from running due to a pre-stress fracture from the Nike Women’s Marathon I knew that today would be the day that I’d attempt to run again.  I spent two weeks after the marathon hobbling around in a flat soled shoe (aka my Clarks) because the doctor told me that as long as I could walk without pain I was okay.   There wasn’t any pain, but there was discomfort and after a long talk with Hilary during a teacher planning day I knew that I needed something else – enter the super sexy boot.

After just a week of wearing the boot my foot felt better and I transitioned into a regular shoe.

After wearing my shoe for a week I decided that it would be okay to try and go for a short, one mile run.  I spent the better part of last night listening to my running mix and getting pumped to be able to run again.  I know going for a one mile run isn’t much, but trust me I was so excited I could hardly stand it!  I’ve been struggling with exercising for the last few weeks (I don’t like it!) so to be able to enjoy moving again, especially after an injury, was all I’ve been able to think about.

When I woke up this morning I was a little nervous.  I’ve never taken more than a few days off between runs since I started running back in December (almost a year ago!) so I knew that it wouldn’t be easy – but more than that what if I had pain?  What if it hurt and I had to take more time off?  I tried not to think about it as I got dressed, had a bite or two of a Clif Bar and laced up my shoes.  It was so exciting to see my running shoes on my feet again!

Hello running shoes!

When I turned on my Garmin I was greeted with the stats of the last half of the marathon.  (The pace that is there is because I’m standing still.  While I was slow during the second half, I was NOT pacing a 25’/mile!)

I went back into the history and saw my splits and got a little teary.  I know it sounds silly but finishing (and even training for) that marathon truly did change my life in more ways than I ever imagined.

I left the house, turned on my iPod and just focused on the sound of the music and my feet hitting the ground beneath me.  When I reached the point where I usually start running (I do a 5 min. warm up walk) I hit the “Start” button on my Garmin and ran for two minutes.  The whole time I was thinking about my foot. Did it hurt?  Was I doing too much?  Was it turned a weird way?  Was that a twinge?  Were my shoes too tight?  Should I have left out my insoles because they are hard? Good Grief! Eventually I let it go and just enjoyed the run and the cool breeze in my face.

It was a lovely day out and felt amazing to be running again.  I certainly didn’t want to overdo it so I stuck with my 2:00 run/1:00 walk that I’ll probably continue for the next week before trying to increase my running and decrease my walking.  I have to admit that it wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be, but perhaps it’s because I’m not particularly fast to begin with.  I was actually surprised at how natural it felt to be running again and while I wanted to keep on going, when I reached the half mile mark I turned around.  Running a mile is certainly better than running three and then not running again for a week because I’ve hurt myself.

When I got home you know I took a picture of myself, like I usually do, to mark another mile logged.  Although this one is especially close to my heart.  And yes, I’m wearing my “Finisher” tech shirt that they gave us when we finished the marathon because I’m cheesy like that.

Today’s stats:
Distance – 1 mile
Time – 12:24
Pace – 12:23’/mi.

I am surprised to see that my pace is actually pretty close to normal, while slow is still a good thing in my book.

By the time I got back home I was starving and decided on a peach Chobani, Mona’s granola, raisins, coconut flakes, and a banana.  So good!

I hope you are all enjoying your Sunday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 3:51 pm

    Nice job on the run! Way to ease back into it! You’re a smart cookie!

  2. November 15, 2009 10:53 pm

    Yay for returning to running!!!

  3. nikki224 permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:16 pm

    That’s awesome! Welcome back to running! I can’t wait until I can do the same!

Leave a Reply

