Skip to content

Santa visited our house a few weeks early!

November 21, 2009

After weeks of research, multiple visits to the camera store and Best Buy, and countless conversations with Carl, I am now the proud owner of my first DSLR camera!  Meet the Nikon D5000, which I have affectionately nicknamed Niko.

When I first started my research I didn’t even think about this camera and was focusing my attention on the Canon Rebel EOS XSi which has AMAZING reviews on just about every site that I found.  When I went to the camera store this week I told the lady who was helping me that I was interested in checking it out, along with the competing Nikon, just for comparison sake.  While I liked the Canon, I kept wanting to pick up and play with the Nikon D5000 because it felt better in my hands and just felt “right”.

Feeling a little confused after my visit, I went home and scoured the internet trying to find reviews on the Nikon D5000 because I was seriously considering it.  At first all of the reviews, the ones that I could find because there aren’t as many as there were for the other Nikon and Canon models, were great.  Then I started to notice some not so great reviews about issues where the camera just stopped working and wouldn’t turn on.  Great.  There was clearly something wrong and shortly after it debuted Nikon issued a recall on an electric component related to power control, but the issue was only associated with a certain batch of the cameras.  At first I was completely turned off by finding out about the recall but I was also really bummed because I really liked the camera.  I was way more disappointed than I thought I would be .  At the same time I just didn’t think that I wanted to take the chance that something would be wrong with the camera even though you can go on the Nikon website and enter the serial number to see if the camera that you own is part of the recall.

I totally discredited the Nikon and decided to focus my attention on the T1i (because I was thinking that video may be a good option since I’d liked that about the Nikon D5000) and XSi.  I went online and saw that Best Buy.com was having a sale (until today!) on both of the Canons that I was considering – $50 off!  SWEET!  Last night Carl and I went back to the camera store so he could check them out (it’s much better to go to a camera store to get a general feel for them as opposed to Best Buy or something where they are on the stick thing and don’t even work most of the time)…and we also asked to see the D5000 again.  I voiced my concerns to the salesperson and he eased my fears about the recalled part, saying that their store hadn’t been sent any of those cameras and that the camera itself was just too good to let that interfere with our decision.

We must have been in the camera store for over an hour, playing with the XSi and the T1i and D5000.  I narrowed it down to the T1i (I liked how it felt better than the XSi) and D5000 (again).  Carl really liked the D5000 and I really liked it too, but kept going back to the T1i because it felt “safer” and I really wanted to like it….but I just didn’t.

We eventually left the camera store to go to Best Buy to do a price comparison and since Best Buy had a better and less expensive warranty (and a good return/exchange policy) we went for it.  Woo Hoo! It was late when we got home so I set up the battery to charge and went to sleep, excited to be able to play with it when I woke up this morning. Ironically Carl woke up early (6:30am!) and while I wanted to roll over and go back to sleep I couldn’t contain my inner “little kid on Christmas morning” and went downstairs to figure out as much as I could about my beloved Niko and take some awesome pictures!

Right now my favorite picture is this one of Bradley.  I know it’s not exciting and you can’t even see his face, but I love it 🙂

It was a really difficult choice, though, because both Nikon and Canon have such comparable entry-level DSLRs.  So much so that for every person that loved their Canon I also found a person who loved their Nikon.  I’m sure that I’d be just as excited if I had purchased the T1i or the XSi but I’m really glad that we went with the D5000. Even though I still have a lot to learn I can already see the difference between my Canon point and shoot and the beautiful D5000 – the clarity is AMAZING!  I LOVE IT!

Which brand of camera do you prefer, Canon or Nikon? Do you have a point and shoot or a SLR?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 2:04 pm

    Yay! What a fun new toy!!

  2. November 21, 2009 3:20 pm

    Ohh, that is what I want for Christmas too! I haven’t done too much research on them yet but I appreciate you sharing what research you have done.

    I have a Canon right now and love it but I am open to other brands.

    • November 21, 2009 11:28 pm

      No problem! I’m glad to answer any questions that you may have, if I can 🙂

  3. November 21, 2009 11:18 pm

    This is my stress right now!! I’m leaning towards the D3000.

    • November 21, 2009 11:28 pm

      I hate to say the same thing that people told me, because it was so frustrating, but you really will be happy with which ever camera that you choose. The DSLRs are SO MUCH BETTER than a point and shoot you will be amazed at the clarity of the images. I definitely recommend going to a camera store to play with them so you can see which ones “feel” better in your hands. Everything else (different modes, menus, settings, etc.) that people say they like or don’t between Canon or Nikon probably isn’t going to make a difference because if you’re anything like I was/am I didn’t know enough to *know* what the difference was. Good luck!

      I really like some of the shots that people are taking with their Canons and the f/1.8 prime lens so I think I’m going to ask for the Nikon version for Christmas.

  4. November 22, 2009 6:26 pm

    I thought of you today when I was watching Ashton Kutcher in a commercial for the Nikon D5000. Looks like an awesome camera!

Trackbacks

  1. I spy with my little Eye-Fi « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

