Skip to content

Nights of Lights and an anniversary celebration

November 22, 2009

The Saturday before Thanksgiving St. Augustine holds it’s annual “Nights of Lights” lighting ceremony and celebration.  From November 21st – January 31st downtown will be covered in white Christmas lights that light up the streets and main plaza to signify the beginning of the holiday season.  It’s one of my favorite times to go downtown because it’s just so pretty!  I was also excited to go downtown to play with the camera, not going to lie 🙂

Carl went into a hot sauce store and found these two sauces…love it!

There is also a wine store that makes wine out of different kinds of fruit – so good!

We walked along St. George Street and decided to go to our favorite restaurant, Casa Maya before the lighting ceremony.  We got their delish guacamole and blue corn chips.

I got the vegetarian burrito that was AMAZING and Carl got their ropa vieja which is the best I’ve ever had.  I swear as much as I love their food I always wish that I had gotten their ropa vieja, probably because I can’t make it at home (or I could, but I wouldn’t) like I can make their other dishes.  Yum!

After we ate the lighting ceremony was already over so we walked along the bayfront, reminiscing how two years ago the lighting ceremony fell on our wedding day – November 17th.  Neither of us can believe that we’ve been married for two years already!

We continued on to the main plaza to see the trees all lit up and the big Christmas tree.  There was a band playing Christmas songs and there were LOTS of people, so we snapped some pictures and were on our way home.  It was a nice evening, and the weather was lovely out, so I’m glad that we went.

I’ll leave you with some of my favorite wedding pictures, including some with the lights in the background.

Trolley ride from the ceremony to the reception

After we cut the cake

I LOVED my bouquet!

 

Lights along the bayfront

After the reception

Wedding pictures taken by Bruce from Bruce Andrews Photography.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 6:16 pm

    With you first sentence of this post I immediately thought of your wedding! It was so beautiful and fun!

  2. November 22, 2009 10:33 pm

    Okay, that burrito looks delish! And you looks gorgeous in your wedding pics! Happy Anniversary!

    • November 22, 2009 11:04 pm

      I love Casa Maya because their food is so simple and GOOD!

      Thank you for your kind words about our wedding pictures! I love to look back at them and remember our amazing day that we were able to spend with so many of our friends and family.

Trackbacks

  1. Running with the husband « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

