Skip to content

Running with the husband

November 22, 2009

Carl and I had plans to go for a run together yesterday, but since we were slow moving during the day and then went downtown to see the lights it was moved to this morning.  When I first started running in December (almost a year ago!) Carl and I would always run together, following the Couch to 5K program that I found online and downloaded to our iPods.  After a bad case of shin splints and a busted up pinky toe, Carl stopped running about six months ago, so I was really excited that he wants to start running again.

Since I’m still not wanting to push too hard after my pre-stress fracture from the Nike Women’s Marathon (which is totally healed now, I’m sure!) we decided to do just one mile this morning.  When I woke up it was pretty gray out, but I wasn’t about to let some rain get in the way of our run!  We both got dressed, stretched and were out the door about 20 minutes later.

I swear I always feel better after a run (yes, even the miserably long ones during marathon training) because it’s such a sense of accomplishment, even for short, one mile runs because I’m thankful that I can run for any length of time. I decided to just run for the sake of running and take walk breaks when I felt like I needed it instead of doing my usual 2 min run/1 min. walk.  I did have to stop for two short walk breaks for about 10 sec. each time, but overall I was pretty pleased with my time even though it was just for 1 mile.  Hopefully soon I’ll be able to cut out the walk breaks all together and still maintain between a 10-11’/mi pace.  Luckily the rain held off until we were almost home and we were sprinkled with just a few rain drops.  I am glad that we went when we did because it’s been raining since we got home and appears that it will be a yucky/rainy day today.

Go babe!

Today’s stats:
Distance – 1 mi.
Time – 10:38 min.
Pace – 10:40’/mi.
Best pace – 8:37’/mi

When we got home we decided to go with a cold breakfast since neither of us really felt like cooking.  I had two weetabix biscuits, shredded coconut, raisins and a scoop of almond butter with about 1/4 c. oat milk.  Yum!

Today we have some errands to run and I have laundry to do and papers to grade.  I’m so jealous because Carl has all week off while I have to work on Monday and Tuesday before we head to visit our family on Tuesday night.  Do you have any time off this week or are you just off for Thanksgiving day?  What are your plans for Thanksgiving?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 6:23 pm

    Ooo, I’ll play…I have to work Monday and Tuesday too, but overall I think that we’re really lucky since so many people only get Thursday (and maybe Friday) off. Matt told his dad we would come visit, so we’ll be heading to Philadelphia on Wednesday night but be back on Friday night; it’ll be the first time I meet his dad. I signed us up for a Turkey Trot about 10 miles from his dad’s house for Thursday morning, and we may do a few touristy sites in the city and snap some pictures before coming back on Friday. We’ll be back in time to still have a relaxing weekend at home 🙂

    Tell Carl I’m proud of him for getting out there and running today! I agree, it makes me feel so much more energized and productive.

Leave a Reply

