Skip to content

Yumtastic!

November 22, 2009

After breakfast we lazed around the house and decided to take a quick nap before heading out to run some errands.  I love my Sunday naps and today Carl actually took a nap with me!  He doesn’t usually take naps since he’d rather watch TV, but I guess since he’s been getting up so early the last two days I guess he was tired.

Even though we are leaving on Tuesday afternoon/evening to head to our parents we still needed some things from the grocery store and we also needed some stuff for the house so we decided to go to the new-ish Wal-Mart not too far from our house.  Before we left I tried the Kombucha that’s been in our fridge for a few weeks and I’ve just now gotten the courage to try.  My vote – it was okay, although a little “vinegary” for my taste.

I certainly wasn’t expecting it to be “fizzy” because after shaking it pretty hard to mix it up it exploded all over the kitchen floor – haha!  Bradley wasn’t sure what to think either.

"What was that all about?!"

I am usually not a fan of Wal-Mart, but this one wasn’t bad and actually had a lot of neat organic stuff that our Publix (and the new one by my work) doesn’t have.  Needless to say our quick trip with a short list of things to get ended up being a little more expensive than we thought because I couldn’t resist all of the yummy food!  We have a stocked pantry and fridge now and will be set when we return on Saturday afternoon to watch the Florida vs. Florida State game in the privacy of our own home.

I know it sounds silly, but because Carl and I are “college football rivals” we have found that it’s easier for us to watch the game with just the two of us than to be around a whole bunch of people – especially his friends/family – who always tease me even though Florida has beaten Florida State since we started dating five years ago.  Oh I dread the day when Florida State actually does win because I’m afraid I will never hear the end of it – haha!  I think that next year we are going to try and buy tickets to the game and make it an anniversary present to ourselves since the game is always played on the Saturday after Thanksgiving.  We’ll see!

Anyways, back to the eats!  For dinner tonight we decided to use a flank steak that we had in the freezer and Carl added some pineapple chunks to it as a marinade and put it back into the fridge to marinade for a little while.  I decided to clean up the living room while Carl cut up some veggies to roast in the oven and then started on some quinoa.  After I finished cleaning up I started on the breakfast bars that I’ve been wanting to make from the November/December 2009 issue of Clean Eating Magazine.

Clean Eating Breakfast Bars

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 c. unsalted pecans, chopped
  • 1 c. unsalted roasted almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 c. dried unsweetened apricots
  • 1 c. dried unsweetened figs
  • 1 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened golden raisins
  • 1 1/2 c. unsweetened brown rice cereal
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 c. pure maple syrup or raw organic honey
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, ground
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

I made a few substitutions to the ingredients because I couldn’t find some of the ingredients at the store.  For example, my pecans and almonds were salted and whole, so I put them in a ziploc bag and banged them with a meat hammer to break them up.  I also left out the salt because I was afraid that it would make the bars too salty since the nuts I used already had salt on them.  I used puffed rice cereal instead of the brown rice cereal and used regular organic honey instead of raw.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Lightly mist a 13×9 baking pan with cooking spray.
  2. Combine pecans, almonds, apricots and figs in a food processor.  Lightly pulse until chopped.  Transfer pecan mixture to a large mixing bowl; add oats, raisins and cereal.
    **My food processor is really small so I put the nuts in first and then put the apricots and figs in separately.  I think in hindsight I processed the almonds a little bit too much and would keep them and the pecans just chopped instead of food processed.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine egg whites, syrup or honey, cinnamon, salt and vanilla, stirring well.  Add to pecan mixture, mixing well.
    **I found that using a whisk worked best here rather than a mixing spoon.
  4. Spread mixture into prepared pan, pressing down gently.  Bake 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned.  Allow to cool 15-30 minutes before slicing into 3×3 in. bars.

Breakfast bars can be stored in an airtight container and refrigerated for up to 2 weeks or frozen for up to 2 months.  Always good to have something as a “go to” when rushing out the door in the morning.

A pan of yumminess!

"Look, I'm cutting the breakfast bars"

He likes it!

"You want some?"

Yum!

I really like the flavor of the bars and think they are just the right amount of salty and sweet.  If you prefer things to be a bit on the sweet side I’d recommend adding more honey/maple syrup to the mix.

Oh, and then there was dinner!  We had roasted veggies including carrots, onions, red pepper, butternut squash; quinoa topped with pineapple salsa and flank steak that was marinated with pineapples.

My plate…

Carl’s plate…

Yumtastic!

Who is your favorite college/pro football team?

I hope you all have a FANTASTIC week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 12:48 am

    Wow, those breakfast bars look so good! I’m not a huge football fan, but it’s on at our house a lot lately!

Trackbacks

  1. Flax fail « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

