Skip to content

An Italian Thanksgiving

November 27, 2009

Since my mom has to work on Thanksgiving (but is off on Tuesday and Wednesday) we decided to have our family Thanksgiving celebration on Wednesday afternoon.  Since Carl and I are going to his Aunt’s house on Thursday and mom’s house on Friday for turkey we thought it would be a little different to have lasagna and the fixings instead of the traditional Thanksgiving meal.

Mmmm...mom's lasagna...

I think that this batch of lasagna was quite possibly the best that she’s ever made!  I think part of it was because she coated the top with ricotta cheese and parm cheese all the way to the ends of the noodles so there were no “crusty ends”.  Yum!  I also think that it helped because we waited about 15 minutes for everything to set before we cut into it – which is hard to do when you’re staring at an amazing pan of pasta!

Time to serve it up

Look at those beautiful strings of cheese!

The bread

Mom was really pleased with the way that the food came out

The amazing chef

My plate had a slice of lasagna, salad, meatball and a piece of bread (x2!)

Carl and Gramps enjoyed their food too…

We managed to polish off almost half of the pan!  Oh it was good!  I think we may be bringing some back to St. Augustine with us on Saturday…if there is anything left!

After dinner we sat around the table and enjoyed chatting and catching up.  I think the after dinner discussions are my favorite part of spending time with family.  It’s so easy to get caught up in life and forget how important those little moments are – even if they are only 10-15 minutes they truly are priceless!

This morning Carl and I are off to his parents house to take some family pictures for our Christmas cards (yipee!) and have Thanksgiving dinner part three!  This afternoon we should have some downtime so I can recap our evening our with Abbie and Raul and Thanksgiving part two 🙂

I hope you all had a fantastic Thanksgiving!  What is your favorite part of the day – the food or the conversation?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 10:33 am

    That lasagna looks SO good! You’ve inspired me to try to talk my family into doing lasagna for Christmas. I love holiday food but sometimes it can be a little too much and I always welcome change… Sounds like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. November 28, 2009 10:07 pm

    Several times when I was a teen/early 20’s my family has did lasagna for Christmas under my request. I think it’s nice to change it up…and I like lasagna way more than turkey!

Leave a Reply

