Skip to content

Flax fail

November 29, 2009
tags:

This morning I was really craving some Pumpkin pancakes so I busted out the pancake and waffle mix that I got from Trader Joe’s while I was in San Francisco.  I knew that we didn’t have any eggs or egg whites so I decided to use the “flax eggs” substitution of 1 tbs. flax and 3 tbs. water that I’d just learned about.

1 tbs. flax meal

+ 3 tbs. water

= a somewhat egg like substance

When I mixed everything together and poured it into the waffle maker the waffles started to look great.  But as they cooked they totally flattened out.  I’m not sure if I did something wrong with my flax:water ratio or if it was that the substitution doesn’t work well in waffles but the waffles weren’t nearly as fluffy as they usually are when we use eggs.

They were pretty tasty though!  I decided to top them with Okios honey Greek yogurt and some of the Clean Eating breakfast bar/granola mix that I made last week.  Yum!  Since we have up our tree (although we still need to decorate it) I decided it would be okay to bust out our Christmas dishes, too!

We had some errands to run today so we decided to have lunch at Cantina Laredo.  I swear that place has the best guacamole and their chips are very light and crispy.  I really like how they have two different salsas, but my favorite is the cold one.

Our guacamole: 1.5 avocados, red onion, salt, lime, a little bit of jalapeno and tomatoes

Since we got the guacamole Carl and I decided to share an order of the steak and chicken fajitas.  I had black beans, rice, onions, peppers, guacamole and sour cream on mine. (x2)

After lunch we were both feeling stuffed and decided to continue walking around and stopped at Anthropologie for our meal planning sheets, Pottery Barn for some new pillow covers for the throw pillows on our couch, Barnes & Noble so I could pick up a copy of Eat, Drink and Be Vegan, and then Williams Sonoma to browse around.

On our way home we stopped at Publix to get some groceries and I stared to feel a migrane coming on.  I haven’t gotten a migrane in years (thank goodness!) and when we got home I took two advil and went straight to bed.  I really think it helped because when I woke up two hours I had a manageable headache.  Carl fixed me some left over lasagna that my mom made on Wednesday (we took home about 1/2 of the pan) and we watched TV and I caught up on some blogs.

It’s been a lovely few days off, full of traveling, visiting and relaxing.  I’m bummed to have to go to work tomorrow but I know that in only three short weeks I’ll have two weeks off!  Woo Hoo!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 4:55 pm

    What do you think triggered the migraine?

Leave a Reply

