Skip to content

Negative splits and coco cran nut muffins

November 30, 2009

Today was a great Monday, especially after a FIVE DAY WEEKEND visiting family and eating a tad too much food.  It was so nice to ease back into the swing of our routine.  Today was a block day so even though our classes were 80-something minutes long we only had to get through three of them.  It’s amazing how much better their behavior is on block days, as most 7th graders don’t do well with transitions (class beginning, class ending, walking through the halls, etc.).

We had a LONG meeting after school and then Hilary and I chatted for a little while before I headed home.  Since I signed up for the 26.2 with Donna half-marathon a few weeks ago, my training has really been lacking – as was evident by only two runs (aside from the Run for the Pies on Thursday morning) in the last two weeks.  Not so good.  However, after my talk with Hilary I was really looking forward to my three mile run, especially since the weather is nice and cool!

I’m proud to say that after nearly a year of running, I was able to attain NEGATIVE SPLITS on my run tonight!  EEEEE!  It was my first time EVER having negative splits and I was so proud of myself!  Sure, I was still slow, but I was able to get into the zone and really PUSH myself each mile.  I ran for four minutes and walked for a minute and found that this is a good ratio for me right now and is quite the improvement over the 2:30 run (or 2:00 run)/1:00 walk.  I know it’s just one run at this ratio so I shouldn’t get too excited, but darn it I am!

The first mile felt really great and since I was pacing right around a 12’/mi. for a while I knew I didn’t go out too fast.  The first mile went by at 12:23 and I was okay with that.  I found a great song, got into the groove and before I knew it I was at my turnaround point and closing in on mile two at 24:35 – a 12:12’/min pace…and that’s when I knew I could do it…I knew I could run the last mile faster…and I did!  Oh Lord I thought my chest was going to explode and my legs just didn’t want to go any more until I saw mile 3.00 pop up at 36:12 AND I RAN THE LAST MILE AT AN 11:36.6’/mi pace!  WOOOOHOOO!

Run stats:
Time – 36:12
Distance – 3 miles
Pace – 12:04’/mi

First negative splits, baby!

When I got home I was feeling pretty hungry and I knew that dinner was still a little while off so I made some chocolate muscle milk with oat milk.  Yum!

Carl started dinner while I was out on my run (because he’s AWESOME!) and was cutting veggies for our Vegetarian Hash from the Clean Eating Magazine (Nov/Dec 2009 p. 48).  He had a little difficulty skinning the Acorn Squash – does anyone have any suggestions on how to easily skin an acorn squash? I’d never had acorn squash and certainly will be eating it again SOON!  We decided to round out the meal by adding a “dippy egg”.  Yum!

Dinner totally hit the spot and while I wanted to go back for a second bowl I was completely satisfied by what I had eaten, so I didn’t.  I know that doesn’t sound like much, but I totally saw it as a victory because I didn’t overeat tonight!  It’s hard to come off of a few days of indulging, but today everything I ate left me completely satisfied.

After dinner I was on a role and made a batch of Coco Cran Nut Muffins Clean Eating Magazine (Nov/Dec 2009 p. 80) that sounded so good!

First we preheated the oven, got out our muffin pans and sprayed them with cooking spray.  Apparently Carl hates the paper liners on muffins.  I learn something new about my husband every day!

We got out all of the ingredients

Then mixed up all the dry ingredients…

…and then all of the wet ingredients…

…and then put “everyone into the pool” as Guy Fieri would say – Love him – haha!

I filled up the muffin cups about halfway

Into the oven for about 20 minutes

MMMMmmmm….muffins…

Verdict?

Good, but a little dry.  I’m not sure if it was because we’re not familiar with spelt flour or if it was because we had 0% Greek yogurt (all we had in the fridge) instead of 2% – or a combo of both – but the muffins are still good and highly recommended.  I think they will be FANTASTIC with some almond butter and yogurt/”milk”.  I can’t wait to eat one for breakfast.

I hope you all have a great Tuesday 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 11:13 pm

    Whoo hoo for negative splits!

  2. Kelly permalink
    December 1, 2009 5:48 pm

    Kudos for continuing to push yourself even after your marathon has been completed. A lot of people would just say “okay, I did it” and leave it at that. It seems like you are really improving!

    As for the acorn squash, I like to roast it with the skin on (the skin actually helps to hold it together). I just cut it into rings or half-moons. Once cooked, you can easily pull the flesh away from the skin with a spoon 🙂

    • December 1, 2009 9:59 pm

      Thank you so much for your encouragement, Kelly! I’m really trying to get refocused on healthy habits and running again – and it’s not easy but I know I will feel so much better.

  3. December 4, 2009 12:53 am

    Ditto what Kelly said for the acorn squash. You can also just slice it in half, and place each half on a cookie sheet and bake. I recommend keeping them up – like a bowl so the juice holds in (upside-down make sure you put aluminum foil on the baking sheet). Once baked (I forget how long) just scoop it out. With a little butter it’s perfect right out of it’s own “bowl”

Leave a Reply

