Skip to content

A delicious dessert

December 1, 2009

This afternoon my co-workers (Ashley and Angel) and I decided to take over one of the rooms near the gym to do a pilates DVD that I brought from home.  It was great!  We only did a 20 minute workout but the three of us felt GREAT!  Ashely and I started doing pilates around this time last year and found that it really does help keep some of the holiday weight off.  Sure it’s only 20 minutes, but it’s better than nothing!  I have no doubt that my abs are going to be super sore tomorrow!

When I got home I started chopping veggies for our veggie pot pie.  I have to admit that I was a little skeptical of the vegetable broth because for whatever reason the brand that we bought totally smelled and tasted like sweet potatoes.  I love sweet potatoes, but once I decided NOT to put them in the pot pie I didn’t want anything to do with them – haha!  It ended up tasting nothing like sweet potatoes once it cooked, though, and truly was incredible!

The veggies we used were:

  • carrots
  • celery
  • onion
  • broccoli

Next time I’d love to include potatoes and peas (which I thought we had but it turns out we didn’t, oh well) and will definitely be making this again!

I was still feeling a little hungry after dinner but wanted something sweet instead, so I pulled out the angel food cake that we brought back from my mom’s this weekend and we made some “banana soft serve” by blending some frozen bananas.  Oh so good!  You know I topped it with a little agave (the bananas were a tad on the tart side), almond butter and coconut flakes.

Today has been quite the day so I’m going to spend some time with the hubby.  I hope you all have a wonderful evening!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 11:00 pm

    I love pilates and really need to get it back into my routine!

  2. lessonstolearn permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:35 am

    That looks delicious!

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m glad to have found yours now. I just back tracked and read about your marathon experience…what an inspiration you are! I’ll be reading 🙂

  3. December 2, 2009 10:50 am

    Hmm, a pilates video seems like a great thing to add to my Christmas list!

    Glad you and the husband got some time together.

  4. December 2, 2009 9:57 pm

    I’ve got to try that pot pie! Such a wonderful comfort food especially when it gets cold!

Leave a Reply

