Skip to content

Hangin’ on for the ride

December 10, 2009

I don’t know what it is about the few weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas but every year they are super packed and I feel like I never have enough hours in the day to do everything that needs to be done.

This afternoon my friend Rachel and I went for a run in her neighborhood, which feeds into the school that we both teach at.  Of course I saw two of my students, which was a little embarrassing, but it was still a pretty good run.  Unfortunately my Garmin died right as we left her house so I don’t have any stats, but she figured that we ran close to three miles.

Right now I’m feeling a little bit frustrated and discouraged with running because I feel like I’m just not getting any faster or better.  Yes, I realize that I couldn’t run for a few weeks because of my pre-stress fracture and that running is a process in and of itself, but I feel like I’m right back to where I was when I started running a year ago.  I know that’s not true, either, because I can actually run for a longer period of time than I could before.  I just need to be patient and keep chugging along, however, patience is not a virtue that I possess and is definitely something that I struggle with.  I’m working on it, just like I will continue to work on running and being happy that I can run.

Over the last week we’ve eaten some really great meals, but for whatever reason I just wasn’t inspired enough to pick up my beautiful new camera to take any pictures.  Heck, even now I don’t really have anything to say now but felt the need to post something to get back into the swing of blogging again.

I’ll be back in the morning with pictures of breakfast, if I’m not running late for work!  Yea for Thursday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 7:17 am

    Sounds like your down…which is okay every once in awhile, just not when it goes on for weeks. You mentioned you notice a trend this time of year. Do you think it’s a holiday stress thing, or perhaps the lesser amount of daylight?

    • December 10, 2009 8:01 am

      I agree, it’s normal to be in a fun every once in a while. Perhaps I do have a bit of “the winter blues” or maybe it’s just that I feel pressure to “feel jolly” because it’s Christmas time. I don’t think PMS-ing is helping either 😉

Leave a Reply

