Skip to content

Weekend in review

December 14, 2009

Friday night I was craving Mexican food like nothing else (what else is new?!) so instead of going out to La Nap or Moe’s, I made vegetarian enchiladas.  They were so good and a much healthier option, too!

The enchiladas included:

  • Zucchini
  • Squash
  • Corn
  • Black beans
  • Cheese
  • Onion
  • Green pepper

I sauteed the veggies with a can of Rotel tomatoes and then added some taco seasoning.  I stuffed the veggie mixture into small soft taco shells with some cheese and topped them with cheese and baked them at 350F for about 30 minutes.  We topped them with homemade guacamole, diced tomatoes, black olives and scallions. Yum!

Saturday I wasn’t feeling all that great so Carl took care of all of the cooking while I stayed in bed – but he didn’t take any pictures of my food.  Ah well.  Breakfast was egg whites with sauteed onions and peppers and savory sweet potato pancakes.  Lunch was a bagel pizza with hummus (instead of tomato sauce) and a little cheese with olives and onions with raw broccoli, hummus, homemade guacamole and blue corn chips.  Good stuff, I’m telling you!  I was feeling a little bit better in the evening so we ran some errands and grabbed dinner at Whole Foods, but I can’t remember what we ate.

Sunday morning Carl and I were both craving pancakes so he whipped some up using a combination of Hodgston Mills Insta-Bake, spelt flour and whole wheat flour.  He topped it with powdered sugar, agave and half of a banana.

Our coffee was special today because we had it with coconut milk creamer that we picked up at Whole Foods on Saturday night.  I’ve been hunting for a new creamer to use in our coffee since I stopped drinking soy milk this past summer and dairy is really starting to bother my tummy again. The coconut milk creamer is great!  It doesn’t actually make the coffee taste like coconut like I thought it would – and Carl likes it too!

We had more errands and Christmas presents to buy so we grabbed lunch at Panera.  We both had French onion soup in a bread bowl and shared a salad and cookies.  Yum!

Dinner was at Hilary’s and was FANTASTIC!

Prosciutto wrapped dates filled with goat cheese

"I have two in my mouth right now"

Cheese and crackers

There were also some pepperoni and cheese bread that went unpictured.

We all served ourselves and sat down to enjoy the amazing food.

My plate included salad, eggplant baked ziti, mozzarella with basil, tomatoes, and balsamic vinegar and potato bread.

I also ate lots of Chex Mix puppy chow and a small slice of tiramisu.  I love spending time with good friends!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 11:13 am

    The food looked great! I will definitely have to try that enchilada recipe. It is so easy to go overboard with enchiladas… Cheese, sour cream… ect…

Leave a Reply

