Skip to content

Holiday celebrations

December 16, 2009

I was in such a hurry this morning that I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of my awesome breakfast – a whole wheat bagel with The Bees Knees and a mashed banana.  Oh so good!

After school we had our annual holiday celebration luncheon and “yankee gift exchange”.  I love the people that I work with; they truly are some of the most amazing people I’ve ever met and I’m so blessed to have each and every one of them in my life.

Rachel dropping off her gift off at the table

All the gifts…

Almost everyone…

Lunch was catered by Chic-Fil-A and included salad, wraps, fruit salad and baked goods that people brought in.

Then the “yankee gift exchange” began.  Everyone who brought a gift was randomly given a number and then each person could either choose a gift from the table or steal from another person, but each gift could only be stolen once.

We had FOUR snuggies this afternoon – two for people and two for dogs!  Each time someone would open one, someone else would steal it!  Who knew they’d be so popular?!

This is the third year that our school has done the “yankee gift exchange” and we always talk about “the purse” that someone brought the first year – it is seriously the most HIDEOUS thing that I’ve ever seen – and each year people bring it back!  This year we went through nearly all of the presents before Peggy opened the bag with the purse in it. I’m sure that we’ll be seeing it again next year!

When I got home I wasn’t feeling all that great, but powered on to make some “sloppy lentils” with brussel sprouts and carrots for dinner.  They were pretty good, but unfortunately I used a whole can of tomato paste instead of half of the can.  Boo!  We added some extra ketchup and mustard and it turned out okay.

Does your work place have a holiday party?  Do you have any traditions like how we pass along “the purse”?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 9:47 pm

    Too funny with the purse! Work parties can be so much fun. Your sloppy lentils looked really good. I usually use lentils in soup so now you’ve given me something new to try!

Leave a Reply

