Skip to content

One year

December 17, 2009

I was in a hurry again this morning (I’m always in a rush in the mornings!) so I grabbed a peanut butter Clif bar to eat on the way to work.  It’s been a while since I’ve eaten a Clif bar and it was quite good, although nothing beats a breakfast eaten at home.

Today passed fairly quickly and was pretty uneventful, which is always a good thing so close to a long break and I know I’m just as ready for a two week vacation as my students are!

On my way home from school I stopped off a Publix because I was craving pizza and since we always find ourselves feeling less than excited about delivery pizza I decided to pick up some dough from the deli.

Dinner was FANTASTIC!

The pizza had fresh mushrooms, peppers, and onions.

While I waited for Carl to get home I decided to go for a run – well, I decided to put on my running clothes and go for a walk and if I happened to run I’d be even happier.  See, today is a very special day in my running life – one year ago today I got home from work and decided to download a podcast that would change my life – Couch to 5k.  In my journal (yes, I still keep a journal) I wrote:

we downloaded Couch to 5K and did the first installment.  It felt great – and boy am I out of shape!  I was completely out of breath, but it felt so good to be moving again!  We both have a late night tomorrow, so we are going to do our second run on Saturday before we leave for my mom’s house.

After we started running that night I continued to run three times a week, listening to the podcast and doing the different runs each week.

Before a few of our first runs

Carl and I ran our first 5K, the Gate River Run in March 2009.

After the run, so proud of ourselves!

And before I even ran my first 5k is signed up for the 2009 Nike Women’s Marathon lottery!  Then we were accepted!!  What the heck was I thinking?!

Since that first 5k I’ve done:

Run to the Sun – 8k – April 2009 (recap here)

RITA Cash – 5k – May 2009 (recap here)

Run for the Pies – 5K – June 2009 (recap here)

Vestcor Bridges – 5k – July 2009 (recap here)

Pink up the pace – 5k – September 2009 (recap here)

Nike Women’s Marathon – MARATHON! – October 2009 (recap here)

Run for the pies (Thanksgiving) – 5k – November 2009 (recap here)

So…in honor of all of the miles that I’ve run this past year I decided to actually go out with only my sneakers and iPod…no Garmin…no podcast telling me when to run and when to walk…and I did this run for me and really reflected on all the different reasons that I run and how it truly has changed my life.  So if you’re out there reading this, wishing that you too could become a runner, know that you can do it!  Sure, you may not start out running a 10 min. mile (I still can’t!), heck you may only be able to run for 30 seconds at a time, but with a little patience and a lot of determination you can do it!

I ran three miles – really ran – without intervals of walking/running!  Woo Hoo!

One year later!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 9:13 pm

    You are so darn cute! I just started running too… About a couple months ago though and I’m definitely starting to like it. It’s amazing how you feel even after just running a mile. Most people can’t even run a mile. I can run 3+ now! You are such an inspiration!

  2. December 17, 2009 9:47 pm

    Aw, Happy Runniversary!!! Congratulations on all of your accomplishments! Keep up the good work!

  3. December 17, 2009 10:39 pm

    Great post! Congrats on your 1 year anniversary with running! 🙂

  4. December 18, 2009 12:58 am

    Great post Danielle! Congrats on your runiversary!

  5. December 18, 2009 7:41 am

    I am so proud of you and feel so blessed that we are friends! What an inspiring post! I’ll be passing it on to a few people I think may need some inspiration.

  6. December 18, 2009 10:17 am

    Great post! You should be so proud of yourself!!! Keep it up this next year!

  7. Hilary permalink
    December 19, 2009 9:45 pm

    Your post made me tear up a little! I am so proud of you and your run… not only do you make me inspired, but you encourage me to keep going…even when the road is tough and seems unending. You are awesome!

  8. December 20, 2009 8:03 pm

    You inspired me to suggest to Matt to make pizza this weekend instead of ordering Papa Johns like we usually do. Unfortunately, Publix was out of dough so we used the pre-made crust, but it was still better and more satisfying than ordering in. Of course I wasn’t the one making it 🙂

Leave a Reply

