Skip to content

Pre-Christmas adventures

December 24, 2009

Carl and I usually spend the holidays shuttling between our families, which isn’t so bad since they only live about 20 minutes apart.  However, instead of going back and forth each day this year we decided to spend the first part of our visit at my mom’s house, so we’ve been here since Monday afternoon and will shortly be heading over to his parents house in a few hours.  While we’ll be with Carl’s family until we leave on Sunday, we’ll also be spending Christmas Day with my uncle and cousins who live in South Florida and Christmas Night with my mom because she has to work during the day.  Whew!

Before we left for my mom’s Carl and I decided to celebrate the Holiday Season with an evening out at the Japanese Steakhouse.  Yum!

We arrived at my mom’s Monday evening and had left over pasta and salad and then played card games.  As I’ve gotten older I’ve begun to really appreciate the times where we stay in and have fun doing things like playing cards or just sitting around the table talking.  Looking back on the time that we spent at my mom’s house I realized that I didn’t take nearly as many pictures as I wish I would have, and am a little bummed about it, but oh well.  I’m sure I’ll be taking a million pictures the rest of the trip to make up for it.

My mom had Tuesday and Wednesday off (they are like her weekends since she works on Saturday and Sunday) so Tuesday morning she cooked us a big breakfast.  I swear breakfast is one of my favorite meals because she would make these amazing breakfasts when I was a kid.

After breakfast Carl and I went to Wal-Mart to run some errands and then surprised my mom with an early Christmas present – new pots and pans!  She loved them!  They also inspired us to deep clean and de-clutter her kitchen which took the rest of the afternoon.

We made a meatless Mexican Polenta Pie for dinner and then watched Up with my Gramps.  I swear I was a puddle of tears watching the movie!  It’s much deeper than it appears to be from the previews, but it was really great.  Before the movie started my mom surprised Carl with an early Christmas present – a tin of popcorn.  Yum!

Yesterday we spent most of the day running errands and purchasing new things for the kitchen.  Carl made a batch of Grandpa J’s Spaghetti and after we ate we watched Angels & Demons while Gramps went to his girlfriend’s place to do their gift exchange.

This morning mom made us another big breakfast before she went to get a massage.  She was supposed to work today but her boss gave her another day off, so she’s going to use it to pamper herself a bit and get ready for the remainder of the week.

I can hardly believe that today is Christmas Eve!  I also can’t believe that our vacation is going by so quickly!  Only a few more days until we head back home and then Keith and Amy are going to come up on Tuesday/Wednesday to ring in the new year.  More from the in-law’s house later.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 5:47 pm

    Oh, I’m so glad you’re back. I was getting a little worried, but hoping it was just that you were spending time with family and didn’t have time to be in front of the computer.

    • December 24, 2009 6:27 pm

      No need to be worried 🙂 Sometimes I get busy and don’t make posting a priority even though I know it’s a good thing to do.

Leave a Reply

