Skip to content

A Day at the Zoo

January 2, 2010

After breakfast we sat around trying to decide what to do when I suggested a trip to the Jacksonville Zoo.  Carl and I have both been wanting to go there and since it was a lovely, although freezing, day out it seemed like a great idea.  I have to admit that I didn’t have high expectations about the zoo, especially going to the Miami Metro Zoo as a child, and I was really surprised at how nice it was!  If you are ever in the Jacksonville area I would definitely recommend a trip there if you get a chance, however I would suggest packing snacks/lunch because the “restaurants” at the zoo aren’t all that great, are expensive and there are little to no vegetarian options on the menu, save a salad.

Instead of giving you a play-by-play of where we went while we were there I’m just going to show you some of my favorite pictures.

Neither of us wanted to go into the bird exhibit

Walking the goats…it was the funniest thing to watch because they sure were stubborn!

Lunch – black beans and rice and nachos…super healthy…

…followed by a churro

In hindsight I really wish we would have packed lunch, but it was nearly 11:30 by the time we decided to go to the zoo (and none of us had taken showers yet…) and it closed at 5:00 so we needed to get ready and out of the house pretty quick.  Next time!

My favorite, the giraffes!

I’m happy to say that I played around with the manual setting on my camera while we were at the zoo and found that it’s really not as hard as I thought it would be to take pictures.  I did have to re-adjust the aperature a few times to get the right exposure for some of the pictures, but it was a lot of fun to do.  I do think that in situations where things are moving or happening really fast you’d be better off shooting with an automatic setting.

We didn’t get to see all of the zoo before it closed, but I hope to go back soon!

How did you all spend your Saturday? I’m really glad that we decided to go to the zoo.  It was a lot of fun and something that we all hadn’t done in a long time!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 9:37 pm

    Hi there – just found your blog. Good luck with your running. Mmmm churros!

  2. January 2, 2010 11:16 pm

    Ooo, I don’t think I would have turned down the churro either.

    What a great (chilly) day for the zoo; I bet the animals were very active.

    • January 2, 2010 11:20 pm

      I’ve never had a churro before so I had to try it 😉 The animals were fairly active, although some of them weren’t in their cages at all because it was too cold.

  3. Ara permalink
    January 4, 2010 8:54 am

    Thank you for sharing this with us. Your lunch looks yummy and appetizing and the churros. =D oh well you might love to try this idea, during this kind of events. I would like to invite you to check out happy tiffin with their cool and amazing stainless steel containers. These containers are really stylish, convenient, eco-friendly, portable and spill proof. So bringing your own packed lunch would aid you to lessen your expenses. =)

Leave a Reply

