Skip to content

and then there was lunch

January 3, 2010

Apparently getting up at 5:30am wasn’t all it’s cracked up to be since I took a nap around 10:30 and woke up two hours later!  I’m not sure how I’m going to get up at 5:30am for the rest of the week and make it through the day without a nap.  Boo!

For lunch I decided to heat up the left over breakfast potatoes and have a Morning Star Farms black bean burger on an english muffin, topped with Sabra roasted red pepper hummus, spinach and tomato.  I was really feeling the need for some greens so I made a green monster with two handfuls of spinach, a banana and a combo of Minute Maid pom blueberry juice and fresh squeezed orange juice.  I should have added a bit of ice to make it colder, but it was really great and satisfying.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 2:50 pm

    Ooo, I was thinking the other day how I haven’t made a smoothie in a long time. That may be my afternoon snack 🙂

  2. January 3, 2010 3:57 pm

    Lunch looks great! I keep a stash of frozen chopped up bananas in my freezer and add those instead of fresh ones to my green monsters. That way you don’t need ice. The bananas make it super cold 🙂

  3. January 3, 2010 4:40 pm

    All looks very yummy! And the green monster sounds delish!

  4. February 24, 2010 2:52 pm

    Hi!!!
    Look who it is 🙂 It’s me….Sarah!
    Everyone is making those green monster’s lately.
    I finally got the stuff to make them…I just haven’t gotten up the nerve to actually try it yet. Im just afraid of it being too spinach-y. LOL!

    I think I’m just going to do it though….as soon as I find my blender.

    Thanks for all the great motivation and meal inspirations. Im getting a ton of good ideas from you as I am working on eating healthier 🙂

    I promise Ill be around here a lot more often. I also started my blog here…check it out if you have time. Im done with that other place.

    • February 24, 2010 6:53 pm

      They really are good! I know it’s scary with the spinach in it, but I PROMISE if you add a banana you won’t taste it at all 🙂

      I love your new blog! Can’t wait to keep up with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

