Skip to content

Tasty Bite

January 4, 2010

Today wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be!  While starting back with block (90 min. classes) seemed a bit overwhelming, it really helped only having to teach three classes today – and I already know what I’m doing tomorrow!  Sweet!

After catching up with Hilary after school today I booked it home to try and get in a run.  Some of you may have noticed my lack of running talk, well that’s because I did very little running over break.  With 26.2 with Donna just eight weeks away (I’m doing the half) I knew I had to get back on the ball and put my miles in and attempt to increase my overall fitness.  Although I finished the full Nike Women’s Marathon back in October I’ve never actually run a half marathon – apparently when I go for something I go big (and I wouldn’t recommend it, by the way!).  So while I’m hoping to have a decent time for the run, I have nothing to compare it to – other than the time that I passed the 13.1 mark during the marathon.

I went back and forth between running in the chilly (by Florida standards) 48F weather or running on the treadmill at the gym.  As I pulled into our development I saw a guy running outside and decided that I, too, could brave the cold temps and avoid the dreadmill.  I sure did layer up, though!  I wore long running pants, UA dri-fit t-shirts that I always run in, Target long sleeved dri-fit shirt and my NWM hoodie.  Everything was warm enough, with the exception of my legs – and everything was quite cold and red from the cold temps when I got back home so next time I may want to wear compression pants or something as a second layer.

While I wasn’t super fast, I was really pleased with my time, especially since I was running the entire time – minus two short walk breaks.

Distance – 4 miles
mile 1 – 12:04
mile 2 – 12:41
mile 3 – 12:11
mile 4 – 11:50
total time – 48:43
average pace – 12:11’/mi

For dinner we had something quick and easy – Madras Lentils, that I picked up from Costco when I was there last week.  They had it on “display” and it was pretty good so I decided to go ahead and buy a box.  The directions were super easy, too, just take out the pouch and heat in either boiling water or open the contents, pour in a bowl and microwave.  I know we could have made this ourselves, but it really was nice and easy to just heat and eat.  Carl also thought it’s make “good camp food”, which made me laugh.

Each pouch holds two servings.

My plate – a serving of lentils, brown rice, organic corn chips from Costco and brussel sprouts

He likes it!

I’m feeling super tired so I’m headed to sleep.  Night all!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 9:40 pm

    Nice job on the run!

  2. January 4, 2010 9:47 pm

    Your hubs is too cute! Awesome job on the run. I ran 2.5 miles yesterday at a terrible pace. This cold weather and wind makes running outside almost unbearable 😦

  3. January 4, 2010 11:32 pm

    My day wasn’t as bad as anticipated either! Perhaps it’s the low expectations? I would NOT have wanted to have students, though, so kudos to you!

    Way to go on your run! I noticed the other day that I can run much faster in the chilly air – I’m just trying to keep warm.

    I had Brussels sprouts for dinner tonight too.

Leave a Reply

