Skip to content

Tuesday

January 5, 2010

I actually did go to sleep shortly after I published last night’s blog post – I was in bed by 8:30 and asleep by 9pm!  I guess I really did need the sleep, although it was so cold this morning that despite the wonderful night’s sleep I had I didn’t want to get out of my warm bed.

Breakfast was a whole grain english muffin with Frog Hollow apricot conserve.  I was in such a rush this morning that not only was I unable to do a breakfast post, but I had already taken a few bites of breakfast before I remembered that I had to take a picture (and it’s on a paper towel!)!

Tonight I was on a mission to make some warm and yummy food, so I used two recipes that Hilary is planning on cooking this month using her monthly meal planner.  After a quick trip to the grocery store I settled in to chopping and cooking and I made Baked Potato Soup from allrecipes.com and Sloppy Buffalo Joes by Rachael Ray.  It was a lot to cook both of them on my own, Carl was still at work, but I did a bit of substituting for each of the recipes.  For the baked potato soup, I omitted the bacon and used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock.  For the Sloppy Buffalo Joes, I used lentils instead of the ground chicken or turkey.  Once everything was sitting on the stove top and Carl arrived home we actually decided to just have the baked potato soup and save the sloppy joes for tomorrow.

I have to admit that while the baked potato soup was good it was missing something that I just couldn’t put my finger on.  Perhaps it would have been better with the chicken stock or more salt or just something else added, so if you do decide to make this recipe play around with it some.  I do think that baked potato soups are difficult to make, in general, so maybe it’s just that I expect it to taste more like loaded baked potato soup and this wasn’t that.  Who knows.

I’m still trying to get back into the swing of things after a two week vacation and I’m thinking that I probably won’t be used to working until Friday – just in time for the weekend!

How was your Tuesday?  Do you find it difficult to get back into the swing of things after a long vacation?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 7:06 pm

    Not only difficult, but the COLD is not helping! Actually, it’s only my running that have suffered. I’ve been really good about everything else, and especially my new menu! But the running…

Leave a Reply

