Skip to content

Steamin’ is the way to go

January 6, 2010

Today was a great day!  It was early release (we get out an hour earlier on Wednesdays) and for once I didn’t pack a ton of stuff in the shortened class period.  The lesson wasn’t super exciting, but the kids transitioned between activities really well so that just made for a great day.  The meeting after school went okay, a little longer than we all thought it would, but in all honesty I get to work with some amazing people so I’m not complaining about being in their company 🙂

Hilary and I chatted after work and then I headed home, jumped into my running clothes and hit the pavement.  It felt a bit chillier this afternoon than it did on Monday so I decided to put on an extra pair of pants and it helped a lot, although about half way through the run I got warm and took of my sweatshirt for a little while.

Today’s stats:
Distance – 3 miles
Time –
Mile 1 – 12:12
Mile 2 – 13:00
Mile 3 – 11:33
Pace – 12:16’/mi
Fastest pace – 9:47’/mi

Overall I’m really happy with my time, which is just a few seconds slower than my four mile run on Monday, so I’m thinking that I’m getting more consistent with my pace.  I’m also pleased that I can run the entire time AND really bust it out in my last mile, too!  Gotta love the chilly weather!

A co-worker was telling me about the Matanzas 5k in a few weeks that runs downtown and along the bayfront and Carl and I are considering it.  It sounds like a fun run and will be similar to the beautiful route that I went on during Pink Up the Pace back in September.

Tonight for dinner Carl made some bleu cheese cornbread using Bob’s Red Mill and we had it along with some steamed broccoli, carrots and onions and the Sloppy Buffalo Joes that we made last night.

I’m feeling much more “awake” tonight, but I’m still going to try and get in bed by 9pm.  No sense in being exhausted tomorrow.

How was your day today?  Did anything particularly special happen to you today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 10:43 pm

    Girl we should run together. We’d be a good match because I run about the same pace 🙂

  2. January 6, 2010 11:22 pm

    Way to go on your run! I’m so proud of you for not only your awesome time, but just making it out the door in general!

    And that sweatshirt is awesome 😉

  3. January 7, 2010 10:29 am

    Ummm… absolutely LOVE your marathon sweatshirt! Too cute!

    Nice job on the run!

Leave a Reply

