Skip to content

A few days behind

January 9, 2010

Hi all!  I’m sorry to disappear for a few days, but I’m still adjusting to being back at work and getting everything in during the day.  It didn’t help that Carl needed to get a new computer at work and was taking our laptop with him so I wasn’t able to come home and get writing.  Anyways…

Thursday and Friday I had the same thing for breakfast, whole grain english muffin with Frog Hollow apricot conserve.  I only have two servings of this stuff left and I’m so sad!  I need to see if I can order it online because it truly is that good.

For dinner I wanted to use up the tortilla chips that we got from Costco last week before Keith and Amy came to visit so I decided to make a seven layer dip.  I didn’t have everything for a traditional layer dip so I used what we had – pinto beans, brown rice, black beans, shredded carrots, yellow pepper, cheese, and salsa.  Once it came out of the oven I added a dollop of sour cream and black olives.  Super yum!

After dinner Carl and I looked through some recipes that Hilary passed along for us  to check out.  Wednesday after work I was talking to her about how I was feeling like I was stuck in a rut with eating and recipes, especially since I’ve been eating vegetarian since right after Thanksgiving.  It’s been a relatively easy transition since we weren’t big meat eaters (and Carl still eats meat when we go out), but I’m struggling with adding variety into the meals and still having them taste like I remember (see my Baked Potato Soup experience with veggie stock instead of chicken stock).  Hilary was a vegetarian growing up and until after she graduated from college, so she gave me some great tips and ideas so I’m excited to dive into the new recipes and trying new things.

After work yesterday I went to the outlet mall to hit up the stores for some cold weather running gear.  I found some great stuff at the Nike Outlet and I can’t wait to wear it all on my run tomorrow.  Carl met me at Ruby Tuesday’s for dinner and we both had the salad bar.  I swear I *love* the salad bar at Ruby Tuesday’s!  Yum.

This morning we woke up to an interesting forecast – a chance of snow flurries!

I’ve never seen snow so I was pretty excited, but unfortunately it’s just cloudy and the doppler doesn’t show any sign of precipitation coming our way.  I do wonder if anyone south of us, in the Orlando area especially, are getting anything since the weather seems to be doing something down there.  Good luck to all those running in the Disney Half and Full marathon this weekend!

I was really craving a green monster today so I got to work on that while Carl made some egg sandwiches.  Our green monsters included:

  • 1c. blueberries
  • 1c. soymilk
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbs. almond butter

I’ve never added almond butter to the GM and it was delish!  It added a lovely, nutty flavor and I’ll definitely be adding it in the future.  I also had a nice, big cup of coffee.

Carl always cracks me up when he serves up food because he always puts the food to the side of the plate instead of the middle of it.  I don’t know why he doesn’t just use a smaller plate, but hey I’m not going to complain because he’s makin’ the food!  Love ya babe 🙂

This afternoon I’m meeting up with my friend from work, Ashley, to do some shopping.  I can’t wait!  What are your plans on this chilly Saturday? If I wasn’t going to meet up with Ashley I think I’d be crawling back into bed to stay warm.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 12:44 pm

    Wow, that apricot preserve looks delicious! If you find it online, please post a link.

    I couldn’t believe the Weather Channel this morning when it said Orlando was getting snow. That’s absurd! I have some friends running in the Goofy Challenge today, and I’m so not envious!

    What are my plans for this chilly Saturday? I’m going to bundle up as best I can and go for a 7-mile run.

  2. January 9, 2010 1:02 pm

    It’s strange to see Florida be hiot with such crazy weather!

  3. January 9, 2010 1:32 pm

    BRRR try to stay warm! I live in NC so we hardly ever get snow. I love AB in monsters… SO GOOD!

  4. January 9, 2010 3:56 pm

    chilly saturday indeed!

    I already got in my run/bike workout combo and look forward to relaxing the rest of the day, maybe do a little painting!

    happy weekend!

  5. January 9, 2010 6:06 pm

    Is Frog Hollow the stuff you bought at the farmer’s market in SF?

    Too bad about the snow…as long as it’s that cold it may as well be snowing. I heard it was at the beginning of the Disney half today.

    What am I doing? Well, check it out: http://whatissharondoingnow.wordpress.com/2010/01/09/chilly-wet-saturday/

  6. January 9, 2010 11:56 pm

    Hey,

    I was just thinking about how I seemed to miss that you had gone completely veggie. Which means I also missed the why. So, why?

    I hear you on getting bored with food. That’s why last year, after 5 years of only eating poultry and seafood for meats, I stopped and returned to “all is fair game.” I had gotten so bored!

    At the time I stopped eating (most) meat, it was a good way to shed pounds and drop my cholesterol, but now I feel like I (for the most part) know how to eat in moderation.

Trackbacks

  1. Breakfast burritos and lists « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

