Skip to content

Breakfast burritos and lists

January 10, 2010

Happy Sunday!  While it’s still super cold out, the sun is shining nice and bright so at least it looks like a nice day out.

This morning we were both craving another green monster so I made those while Carl made breakfast burritos.

I discovered that the key to making smoothies in our blender is to put the blueberries, banana and soy milk in first and blend it up before adding the spinach.  For once I didn’t have to keep turning it off or shake it to blend everything.  Yea!

Instead of just having eggs in the burrito, Carl heated up the layer dip that I made Thursday night.  It was so good!

Packin’ the burritos.  This one is his.

Rollin’ it up

Yumtopia!

After breakfast we went through our new Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook and planned out our meals and made the grocery list.  I got these pads from Anthropologie a few years ago and I love them because they make list-making so much easier!

On the menu this week:

Sunday – Pappardelle with zucchini and lemon
Monday – OYO (on your own) because I have something going on at work until 8pm
Tuesday – Polenta with veggie ragout
Wednesday – Chickpea and sweet potato curry
Thursday – Potato and gruyere tartlets
Friday – Eggs in tomato sauce
Saturday – Winter squash with spiced couscous

I’m really excited to try out these recipes because they all have simple ingredients and seem very easy to make.  Hopefully they will taste good, too.  Thanks to Aileen for suggesting the chickpea and sweet potato curry – it looks delish!

I am scheduled to do my long run today but it’s so cold and I just don’t want to!  Quite honestly it’s putting me in a bit of a funk so I think I either need to get out there and do it or resign myself to the fact that I’m not going to run today.  I swear I hated running in the summer, but running in this cold weather isn’t my favorite either.  I don’t know how those of you who live up north handle the freezing temps and snow(!).  When do you think it’s too cold to run outside?  What do you do instead?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 2:16 pm

    I really need to start buying better groceries so I can make meals like you and Carl do.

    Did you get out for your long run? I think those of us in the north have just gotten used to the low temps. When I lived in Florida, it took me a long time to adjust to how hot it was, and when I moved back up north, it took forever to re-adjust. It was 32 yesterday, and I think I could probably run outside if it were a little colder, but only during the daytime. My weekday runs are done at night, so I’d rather be on the treadmill I suppose.

  2. January 10, 2010 2:44 pm

    My blender has a little poker stick thing and if I just keep pushing the spinach down it all blends in and I don’t have to shake it.

    I hope you blog about your dinners this week! Everything sounds awesome 🙂

  3. January 10, 2010 3:32 pm

    I was thinking about breakfast burritos this morning too, but never ended up making them. I just had a banana instead. I haven’t done much that requires lots of energy today.

    I could tell Matt didn’t want to go out for his run today, and I eventually “tough talked” him into it, but I’m so glad I went out yesterday.

    Really I think the key is appropriate dress for the weather, which may require special running gear compared to the summer. Speaking of, didn’t you buy some cold weather running gear yesterday? I hope you do go out for your run so you can try it out and report back!

  4. January 10, 2010 3:59 pm

    Living in NoDak, it’s not only the temp that I take into consideration, but the wind chill and road conditions. Like now, it’s a warm 15 degrees with barely any wind, sunny, but the roads/sidewalks (where cleared) are full of compacted snow, ruts, and icy patches. To be honest, I spend a lot of the winter months running inside because I don’t want to deal with this.

    If the roads/sidewalks are completely cleared, I will run outside if it is about 25 degrees without much wind.

    Your menu for the week looks good! Those breakfast burritos sound yummy too!

Leave a Reply

