Skip to content

Veggies three ways

January 10, 2010

After my nap I did eventually make it to Publix and came out with four reusable bags of groceries!  I was surprised that I bought so much since my list was relatively short, but such is the case with the grocery store.  The only thing I couldn’t find while I was there were dried currents that are supposed to go in our winter squash with spiced couscous.  I saw current jelly, but no dried currents.  I’m thinking raisins (regular or golden) will be a fine substitute.

Dinner tonight was pappardelle with zucchini and lemon from our new Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook and it was very simple and quite tasty.  The only modification that we made to the recipe was to use different noodles because we didn’t have pappardelle and I figured whole grain egg noodles would work just fine.  Along with the pasta (which included sauteed zucchini and the zest of a lemon), we had roasted brussel sprouts and steamed carrots|broccoli|onion – veggies three ways.

We have a ton of the pasta left over and I have no doubt that you’ll be seeing this again.  We already have plans to sub out the scheduled polenta with vegetable ragout with the pasta and left over veggies from tonight.  Same concept just a little different 🙂

What did you have for dinner tonight?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 10:05 pm

    Italian Vegetable Stew (Ciambotta) from Epicurious. Very hearty, veggie meal and great on a cold night. You may want to check it out. I can see you putting it over some polenta.

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Italian-Vegetable-Stew-em-Ciambotta-em-355473

    http://whatissharondoingnow.wordpress.com/2010/01/10/another-chilly-day-italian-vegetable-stew/

  2. January 11, 2010 12:07 am

    Oooo that pappardelle looks amazing! I cooked some this year in my cooking class for school. I had brussel sprouts and gluten free homemade pizza 🙂 so delicious

Trackbacks

  1. 5 in 59 « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

