Skip to content

5 in 59

January 12, 2010
tags:

This morning I was running later than I wanted to but I was craving a green monster so I quickly made one.  I swear it didn’t take that much loner than as waiting for my english muffin to toast and it was GOOD even though it was so cold outside.

Today and yesterday we had midterm exams and both were easy days, although I wish I could say that my students did well on the tests.  Sadly they didn’t and many of them will be scrambling for the next few days to pull up their grades before the quarter ends.  Ah well.

This afternoon I got an email from Kristin letting us know that CrossFit has FREE classes on Saturday mornings at a nearby location!  I’m so excited about this and I think that Carl and I, along with some other people from my work, are going to go.  Yea!

I managed to leave fairly early from work and got all suited up for a five miler.  It was chilly, but not as cold as it has been so I decided to try out the new Lululemon running pants (Run: passion crop) that I got for Christmas.  They are capris and since it got so cold and stayed that way right after Christmas I wasn’t able to wear them until today.  I probably would have been a little better off wearing longer pants towards the end of my run because I did get cold, but it wasn’t too bad.  While I LOVE the way the feel and look I’m not super excited about the “low cut” rise of them.  I’ve got some junk in my trunk so they may sit lower on me that someone with a smaller bootay and I had to mess with the drawstring inside once I started running.  Eventually they settled in and I didn’t even notice them slipping at all but they were lower than I would have liked them to be when I was finished and took off my sweatshirt (ie. a little muffin was showing – gah!).  I think in the future I’ll be buying higher waisted pants from lulu and I’m already saving for my next pair 🙂

I’ll be honest, the run didn’t start out all that great.  As I left the house I realized that my iPod wasn’t working.  I know it doesn’t seem like a big deal, but I didn’t want to go out for a 5 mile run without my iPod.  A shorter run might have been okay, but 5 miles takes me a while and I knew I’d get bored.  I wasn’t sure what happened and figured that maybe I didn’t have it on the charger right but when I plugged it into my computer it didn’t even recognize it.  Great.  I thought I had a dead shuffle on my hands and I wasn’t excited.  I decided to see what was on our other iPod (yes, we have entirely too many iPods in our household…) and it was crap music so I took all the music off of it and started to load my running mix but it was taking FOREVER.  I decided to Google ways to fix my shuffle and found that it just needed to be reset so after I followed the directions it started working again and I was out the door.  Finally, only 20 minutes later…

Despite the difficulty getting out the door the run was great.  It felt like I was slow as anything while I was running and then I looked down at my Garmin and saw my pace was pretty good and the miles were clicking along.  Before I knew it I was at my turn-around point and then back home.  I’m excited to announce that I ran my fastest five miler EVER, with almost every mile (except the one that I took my GU) under a 12 min. mile.  Woo Hoo!

Today’s stats –
Distance – 5 miles
Time – 59:13 (Fastest 5 mile time EVER!)
Mile 1 – 11:54
Mile 2 – 11:54
Mile 3 – 11:34
Mile 4 – 12:36 (took a GU)
Mile 5 – 11:12
Pace – 11:51’/mi
Fastest pace – 8:50’/mi

From looking at my splits I can definitely see that I’m “slower” during the first few miles, especially if the run is going to be longer.  This makes me wonder if I’ll ever be “happy” with a 5k time because I seem to find my groove after the first two or three miles.  Something to consider when I’m frustrated with my 5k time.

When I got home I started on dinner right away – “new” leftovers from Sunday night.  I took the pappardelle with zucchini and lemon from our new Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook and added the leftover brussel sprouts, half of a red pepper and Paul Newman’s Alfredo sauce.  AMAZING!  I think my favorite part was actually the brussel sprouts with the alfredo sauce.  SO GOOD and highly recommended.

Not gonna lie, I ate two bowls of this stuff (along with a piece of multigrain bread and Earth Balance).  I just couldn’t help myself.  I’m not stuffed so I guess I was hungry after all.

I’m really excited that tomorrow is Wednesday because that means I get to wear jeans!  I LOVE jeans day!  Do you get to wear jeans on special work days (like Friday) or can you wear whatever you want to work? We are allowed to wear them on early release Wednesdays, Fridays – or the last day of the week if we have Fridays off – and teacher workdays.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:34 pm

    I work for a very conservative organization and our dress code is business “appropriate.” BUT on Fridays we can we jeans if we make. $2 donation to the charity box. Totes worth it!!! It’s fun to dress down and dress a little fun and trendy!

  2. Hilary permalink
    January 13, 2010 7:31 am

    5 under 59 is awesome! I am so proud of you 🙂 We need to run together soon so you can kick my butt to be fast like you!

  3. January 13, 2010 8:57 am

    Nice job on the 5-miler!

  4. January 13, 2010 4:34 pm

    That’s a GREAT time for 5 miles! I wish you lived closer since we seem to run at the same pace.

Leave a Reply

