Skip to content

“There’s no crying in PE!”

January 14, 2010
tags:

Yesterday I was craving a green monster for breakfast again so I quickly put one together and drank it on the way to work.

The green monster had:

  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1 c. blueberries
  • 1 c. soy milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbs. almond butter

I swear the green monster is AMAZING with almond butter and really “sticks” with me until lunch.

When I got home from work I did not want to go for a run.  I was tired and a little sore from my run on Tuesday but I figured I would shake it off after I got going.  I made it through the first mile and decided to keep going, since I had a four miler on my schedule.  I made it to my turn around point and was just as cranky as anything – I was hot, then cold, then frustrated because my shoe laces weren’t tired right and I finally sat down on the sidewalk and cried.  Oh lordy, yes I cried.  Ironically earlier in the day a student and I were talking about crying during PE class (someone had gotten hurt playing something in her class the day before) and she was appalled that the person would cry since “there’s no crying in PE!” (this coming from a girl who plays football…)!  I obviously didn’t think there was anything wrong with crying (clearly), but while I was frustrated and weeping on the sidewalk I thought about her, and how amazing it is that she’s the only girl on a boy’s football team, and I sucked it up and got back running.

The rest of the run was horrible and I just focused on putting one foot in front of the other until I made it home.

Yesterday’s stats
Mile 1 – 11:53
Mile 2 – 12:11
Mile 3 – 13:07
Mile 4 – 12:14
Total time – 49:27
Pace – 12:22’/mi
Best pace – 9:40’/mi

I made some muscle milk and got started on dinner, chickpea and sweet potato curry from our Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook.

I’m not sure what happened, but while I was cooking dinner I started to feel horrible and the smell of the curry was seriously making me nauseous.  When Carl got home I passed dinner off to him to finish off, took a shower, got sick (gross, I know) and then felt a little bit better.  I opted out of the curry because the smell was still not all that great to me and had an english muffin with pb and agave and went to sleep shortly after I ate.

Carl was awesome and took pictures of the food cooking and his plate and RAVED about the dish.

Chickpeas and sweetpotatoes cookin' up

Peas and tomatoes waitin' to be added

Bradley keeping Carl company in the kitchen

Carl's bowl

Today I woke up and my tummy felt fine so it must have been a fluke or something.  Maybe I just needed to listen to my body and skip out on the run, so today I took a much needed rest day and enjoyed an afternoon without a run.  Breakfast wasn’t anything exciting, just an English muffin with guava jelly.  I’ll be so glad when the english muffins are gone because I love them, and all bread products, and eat them way too often.

Even though we had a delish dinner scheduled for tonight I really didn’t want to cook and neither did Carl.  We decided to go to the Mexican restaurant down the street and while it was nice not to cook dinner, I enjoy our mexican food nights much more.

I had the veggie quesadilla with refried beans, mushrooms and cheese.  It was pretty good.

Tomorrow we have a teacher planning day (love them!) and then it’s a long weekend.  Yea!

What is your “go to” meal when you don’t feel like cooking? Ours is either mexican or pizza.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 10:12 pm

    My go-to meal when I don’t want to cook is cereal. For real. Possibly with a banana and tbsp of peanut butter. Either that or a couple scrambled eggs with PB toast and 1/2 banana, kinda like my routine breakfast! LOL

  2. January 15, 2010 7:36 am

    I had curry on the menu for last night…but we ended up eating out at sushi.

    Our “go to” meals:
    if we don’t want to leave the house – Pizza, specifically Papa Johns

    if we don’t mind the leaving the house – sushi or “Mexican”

    and by “Mexican” I often mean Chipoltle…but sometimes not.

Leave a Reply

