Skip to content

Fluffy squares of goodness

January 15, 2010

Today was quite a productive day at work.  I was able to focus and get all of my projects graded, papers graded and plans for next week all taken care of.  Sweet!  For lunch I joined Ashley and three other co-workers for pizza and before I knew it, it was time to go home.

After work I decided to run some errands for the Girl’s Night In that I’m hosting tomorrow night.  Carl and I have never had more than two people visiting at one time so I’m really excited to have a few of my favorite people over.  While I was out Carl got started on dinner, Potato and gruyere tartlets from the Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook.

First Carl combined thinly sliced potatoes, fresh rosemary, olive oil and salt and pepper in a bowl . He also cut a sheet of puff pastry that had been thawed into four pieces and scored the inside to make a “crust”.

I added a thin layer of gruyere cheese around the crust and then Carl added the potato/olive oil/rosemary combo to each tartlet and then I added a final layer of gruyere.

Into the oven for about 20 mins. and out came fluffy little squares of goodness.  It didn’t look quite like the picture, but it was still pretty.

We also sauteed some zucchini and red pepper to go along with the tartlets.  The combo was so good and I’m glad that we decided to add the veggies to the meal.  I’m not going to lie, I ate two!  When we make this in the future I think we’ll use less olive oil and rosemary, but it was still amazing!

I’m already enjoying the long weekend – a great dinner, wonderful company and a fun evening of Wii ahead.  What is your favorite way to spend a Friday night?  Do you prefer to go out or stay in after a long week? I can go either way, but I think I enjoy staying in so I can wear my pjs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 4:56 pm

    Friday nights? Usually I prefer to stay in and relax…and then have a little fun saturday nights! 🙂

  2. January 20, 2010 7:39 pm

    Stay in! Order pizza and watch a movie.

Leave a Reply

