Skip to content

A mountain of eggs and a bite from the green eyed monster

January 18, 2010

Despite going to bed at nearly midnight I was up at 7:30 when Carl said goodbye as he headed off for work.  The sun is hiding today, making it the perfect day for staying in, getting my laundry done and getting organized for the week.

Breakfast today was a mountain of eggs and yesterday’s leftover breakfast potatoes.  Super yum!  I went back and forth between eggs and oatmeal and figured that I’m more likely to make oatmeal during the regular work week so I went for the eggs and boy were they good.

I’m trying to motivate myself to go for a run, since I missed yesterday’s eight mile long run. I’m having a difficult time training for this half marathon, for some reason. While I love running and how I feel while I’m out there, I find myself dreading runs that are over four miles. Perhaps it’s just because I really don’t want to do this half, and would be more excited if I was doing the Princess or focusing on the River Run (in March). I don’t think it’s helping that I’ve been comparing myself (weight loss and running speed) to other people. I know that I shouldn’t be doing that, but I think I’ve been bitten by the green eyed monster known as jealousy. I just need to refocus on why I started running and why I run and not focus on anyone else’s journey – because it’s not mine.

Jen from priorfatgirl wrote an amazing post this morning that I really needed to read.  It was basically about how we are not able to control the events that occur in our lives, but how we can choose to act (or react) to those events.  It really struck a cord with me today, as do most of her blog posts.

Do you ever get bitten by the green eyed monster?  How do you bring the focus back on yourself and off of others?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 1:02 pm

    I compare myself all the time! I get jealous of those faster paced runners who can complete their long runs in an hour or two when I know because I’m slower it’ll just eat up ALL my time!

    I just try to think about where I was when I started. All those people who look at me and say, “I can’t even walk a mile!” It also doesn’t hurt that I work on an oncology (cancer) floor and that I take care of people who for one reason or another can’t get out of bed and walk to the restroom by themselves. I just go out and keep it up cause I know that someday that may be me and that I have to enjoy my time and my legs while I can!

    It is SO easy to compare though. I also try to think forward about how this run will ultimately help me reach those time goals and be faster. If I skip too many runs, I’ll loose my fitness all together, you know? I never want to be back at square one!

  2. January 20, 2010 9:12 pm

    Yes. It was a bit intimidating running with my friends in the 5K in the keys this weekend. They are all very skinny! I was so self-conscious about trying to keep up.

Trackbacks

  1. Running for me « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

