Skip to content

Baby steps, baby steps

January 20, 2010

I mentioned a week or so ago about how I made the decision to go vegetarian, which I was hesitant about announcing in the first place, but I never discussed why I made that choice.  I’ve never seen Food, Inc. or other movies about animal cruelty, how our food is prepared, etc., but I’ve never really been a huge meat-eater.  When beef comes out a little pink I’ve always thought of it as “still moo-ing” and I always check my chicken to make sure that it’s not pink (seriously, I cut a piece of chicken breast and stare at each piece as I put it in my mouth to make sure that it’s done).  I’m also an animal lover and don’t like to think about where my food comes from and what happened to it before it gets on my plate – which is why making the decision to become a vegetarian was an easy choice.

However, after reading Paige’s Vegetarianism Checkpoint post I realized that while my heart is in the right place, my head is not.  Sure I did some research about where I should get my protein, how much I need, etc. before I made the decision to stop eating meat, but I don’t think I did enough to truly know what I was doing.  I worry every day if I’m fueling my body with what it needs to be healthy and that in and of itself isn’t healthy.  Heck, sometimes I feel like I’m still trying to learn how to put together a well balanced meal and yet I’m trying to omit an entire food group!

I know that vegetarianism (and eventually even veganism because milk and I don’t get along.  No matter how much I love Greek yogurt it doesn’t love me back!) is my ultimate goal, but until I feel more comfortable and confident that I’m giving my body what it needs to function, I think I’m going to have to take a few steps back.  I’ve decided to focus on “Clean Eating” and incorporating meat (free range/organic) back into my diet until I can do more research to make sure that I’m taking care of my body.

Since I’m being honest here, I feel a little bit like a loser, like I couldn’t “cut it” as a vegetarian.  I know that’s not the case, rather that I made the decision before I’d really done all the research, which is really unlike me! I guess life truly is about the process, not perfection.

Have you ever made a big decision and then changed your mind about it?  How did it make you feel?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 11:33 pm

    I’m glad you posted this! As you know, I’ve been trying to go vegetarian. I’m going to start tracking my protein grams every day to see how I’m doing. And I’ll definitely be doing more research!

  2. January 21, 2010 3:21 am

    Honestly, I think that in the end you will be way more successful if you ease into it – healthier too because you will be able to do it right. I just had this conversation with my husband over the weekend. I would love to go vegetarian and actually dislike most meat anyway but I am not quite ready to give up the little meat that I do like. I have found when I decide to quit something cold turkey it usually ends up backfiring because then I crave what I can’t have.

    This has nothing to do with not “cutting it” as a vegetarian. You will be a very successful vegetarian when you are ready and people will respect you more because you will have done your research and have the knowledge it take to be a good vegetarian.

  3. January 21, 2010 6:01 am

    You really should not feel bad about yourself! In life you have to explore various options to find exactly what is right for you at that particular time – the fact that you have decided to go back on this specific decision is actually a very positive thing – why stick with something if it is not 100% working for you? Good for you!

    I also completely agree with Kristen’s comment – easing into it over a long period of time will probably be far better for you. To completely cut something out of your diet is not always the best option, in spite of what some people say.

    If it makes you feel better I still eat meat (organic – hopefully hormone free!) every week. I do think about going vegeterarian/vegan but I don’t want to rush head first into it. For me, its something in the future.

    Good luck!

  4. January 21, 2010 7:31 am

    Are you kidding? I’ve gone back and forth between vegetarianism, including and omitting dairy, including and omitting poultry and/or fish, etc. etc. etc. so many times in my life that when I see friends I haven’t seen in awhile, I have to explain what I am or am not eating.

    And you know what? I’ve found that nobody judges what wagon you’re on or off at any given moment. Just do what feels good for you. Life is suppose to progress, right?

  5. January 21, 2010 7:45 pm

    Girl you are smart to do things at your OWN pace. I’ve been meatless for over 10 years, but I gave it up gradually. First pork, then red meat…so on. I learned as I went…crazy the things animal products are in! (hello, marshmallows???) you’ll get a feel for what is right for you!

  6. January 23, 2010 8:16 pm

    Either way you’re going in the right direction! You know where you want to end up, and doing it the right way will help you stick with it. Glad you’re doing it your way and how you feel is right 🙂

Leave a Reply

