Skip to content

Tornado watch

January 21, 2010

While today certainly started out as fairly uneventful it certainly didn’t end that way!  I woke up to cloudy skies and a forecast of lots of rain and thunderstorms all day but managed to make it to work before it started raining.  As the day progressed it got darker and darker until by the end of the school day there was quite a storm brewing.  About 15 minutes before we were to dismiss for the day our Principal came on the loudspeaker informing us that we were going to be holding our students in our classrooms until further notice.  We were all a little weirded out, thinking that it was a bit odd that we’d be spending the next bit of time together.  I’m glad that we’d had a tornado practice drill earlier this year so I told my kids where we were supposed to go, just in case.  While the weather got progressively worse and a tornado was spotted at some point we never had to “duck and cover” and an hour and a half later our students were released.

In our school district the middle school students are the first ones to be transported home and unfortunately for the rest of the schools, they were now almost two hours behind schedule.  As I was leaving for a meeting at 5:30pm I saw buses driving around the neighborhood, dropping the high school students off.  Holy goodness it was a long day!

I got home around 7:30 after my meeting and Carl was making dinner – polenta lasagna from our Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook.

I’ve been eating cheese like it’s my job lately, which you all know isn’t all that great for my tummy, but this was so good I just couldn’t help myself!  The lasagna had:

  • precooked polenta
  • homemade pesto
  • Newman’s Own basil and tomato sauce
  • fresh mozzy cheese
  • ricotta cheese

I did only eat this serving, but totally busted out some crackers to put the cheese on since we are out of bread.  Yum!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 12:15 am

    Wow, tornado warnings huh? Crazy.

    that lasagna looks so yummy!

  2. January 22, 2010 3:36 am

    Mmm, that looks so good!

    Yikes, tornado warnings!

  3. January 22, 2010 7:35 am

    I didn’t realize you had such bad weather yesterday. Hope you had some games to bust out to keep your students occupied – YUCK!

Leave a Reply

