Skip to content

A packet and a dinner

January 22, 2010

Even though this was only a four day work week I swear it just dragged on. I could hardly control myself once it was time to leave however my giant pile of “to do” stuff kept me at work until 4:30.  I met up with Carl downtown so I could register for the Matanzas 5k that I’m running in tomorrow and I’m really looking forward to it.  It’s supposed to be a beautiful day and it is always lovely to run in a new place, especially along the bayfront.  I’d like to beat my previous 5k time, but honestly I just want to run the whole thing and have a good time.  I’m really starting to think that I’m more of a long distance runner (I do have good endurance when I can motivate myself to run over 4 miles) and don’t know how much more I’ll improve my “short distance” time.

After we registered and walked around the small expo (I can’t wait for the giant one at the River Run in March!), walked around downtown and we went to Casa Maya for dinner.

We shared an order of their homemade guac and blue chips, so good!

I got a small cup of their Mayan soup which had veggie broth, tomatoes, avocado, onions, tortilla strips and cheese with a side of bread.

We also shared a veggie burrito in a spinach tortilla that had black beans, brown rice, cheese, avocado, red peppers, zucchini and topped with homemade warm salsa.

Inside…

We both resisted the temptation to eat any dessert and I’m really glad that we did because I feel comfortably full instead of stuffed.  When we got home I had Carl take a picture of me with my race bib.

The race is ChampionChip timed but instead of wearing a timing chip on my shoe, it’s on the back of the bib.  The guy told me to make sure that it doesn’t get bent or anything, though, because they aren’t sure if it will work all bent up.  Yikes!

I swear that it doesn’t matter how many races I do, I always get butterflies when I think about actually being able to run in them.  It’s hard to believe that I only started running a year ago and while I wish I was faster, better, thinner…I’m so proud of how far I’ve come!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 4:51 pm

    Way to keep it in perspective…and I think your 5k time will drop, just give it time. I’m still trying to beat 30 min, and I know in time it will come.

    An interesting story, my friend has also been trying to beat 30 min for a couple years, and last month she was able to it…all the way to 27 min. However, her fiance left her a few months ago, right after they bought a house and she dropped 12 pounds from stress. He was running in the same 5K. We were joking about it lately and she had a point, it’s better to be at +30 min and in a happy place.

  2. January 23, 2010 6:47 pm

    You did great!!! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

