Skip to content

Funny stories and the Matanzas 5k

January 23, 2010

I was so excited for the Matanzas 5k this morning that while I didn’t get out of bed until my alarm went off a few minutes after 7:00 I was up at 6:30.  If only I could be up and raring to go during the week as I am on the weekends!  Breakfast was a piece of toast with pb (my jar is getting empty!), guava jelly and a nice cup of coffee.

Carl was running a little later than I was so he poured himself a mug and was all set to drink it in the car on our way to the race.  While he was driving I decided to clean off my iPod ear buds when all of a sudded the plastic cover popped off and went plop – right into Carl’s coffee!  Needless to say he didn’t finish his cup of coffee and I had to dig around in the mug for my ear bud cover.

We weren’t exactly sure where to park but as soon as we got close to the start we saw cars parked along the street so we pulled onto a side street and parked.  It was only a two block walk, but it was windy and cold (by Florida standards) so I kept on my long sleeved shirt.

As we walked to the start we passed The Village Inn and I ran in to use the bathroom (trip 1 of 2) so I wouldn’t have to wait in the giant port-a-potty line.  Eventually it was time to streeetch and get in the giant starting line.

I kept looking for Hilary and Rene, from work, who I knew were running in the race today but there were a lot of people and I couldn’t find them.  I was a little bummed but since we hadn’t planned on meeting up and run at different paces I knew we wouldn’t be together long anyways.

At 9am the cannon went off and the line started to move forward and then stopped.  Since the race started along a divided road I just jumped the median and ran on the other side, which was moving much faster.  I made sure to cross the mat and off we went.  I really wish that I could pace myself better at the beginning of a race because I was just going with the group and when I looked down at my Garmin I was running at a 9:30-10:00’/mi pace – way too fast for me!

I slowed down a little bit as we rounded a corner and I looked for Carl, who was the paparazzi today.  He was supposed to be near Ripley’s but was on the other side of the street so I had to wave frantically to get his attention.  Luckily he saw me and snapped these two pictures – I’m wearing the blue shirt.

I was so glad that I decided to give Carl my long sleeved shirt because running along the bayfront in the sun was HOT and I was seriously sweating like a man.  The course was very similar to Pink Up the Pace that I ran back in September except that it didn’t end on St. George Street, which was a bummer because it was really neat running down that street.  Even though I knew that the start and finish weren’t in the same spot, for some reason I saw the start before I rounded one of the final corners and totally booked it – and then had to run a bit further.  When I could see the clock right around 37 min. I knew I’d be able to make it before it hit 38 so I picked up the pace even more and as I tore down the final .16 nubbin, the course bottlenecked and a family in front of me (dad pushing a stroller, elementary age boy and mom) grabbed hands to cross the finish line together.  Now, I know this is going to sound horrible because I think it’s AWESOME that this family decided to run and finish together but they took up all the space on the road so I couldn’t get around them and I was more than a little irritated!  I mean REALLY?!  Ah well, in the grand scheme of things I could have done better in the 3 miles before that moment and it was only a few seconds added to my time.

Today’s stats – according to my Garmin as the official results aren’t uploaded yet
Distance – 3.16 miles
Time – 36:30
Mile 1 – 11:16
Mile 2 – 11:57
Mile 3 – 12:00
.16 nubbin – 1:14
Pace – 11:34’/mi
Best pace – 7:42’/mi

After the race Carl and I were going to grab some post-race food but it was a zoo so we decided to just head to Casa Maya as we’d planned on.  I did have him snap this picture of me post-race, though.

Even though it was still chilly we decided to sit outside and I’m so glad that we did because it was lovely!

We both had a cup of coffee, which seriously was amazing.

I ordered the veggie wrap on rye with veggie refried beans, avocado, Mexican cheese, tomatoes, mixed greens, mango and a delish balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

Carl ordered a sandwich with ropa vieja, plantains, avocado and peppers.

We decided to share so and I’m so glad that we did because Carl’s sandwich was AMAZING!

Since this sandwich was my first time eating meet since right after Thanksgiving Carl decided to document my experience.  As soon as he started snapping away I was totally cracking up.  The sound of the shutter totally makes me laugh, especially when pictures are taken in rapid succession.

Not gonna lie – it was GOOD!  I knew that eating my first “meat” meal at Casa Maya would be good because they have such wonderful and fresh ingredients.  Yum!

Do you have a favorite place to eat? Ours is definitely Casa Maya but since it’s about 25 minutes away from our house and isn’t open for dinner during the week we tend to go long periods of time between eating there and then we’ll eat there a few days/meals in a row.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 5:05 pm

    I was going to say “didn’t you eat there last night?”

    Matt and I love sushi and even though we try to switch up where we go, there’s only one place close that’s open on weekend afternoons, which is our favorite time to get it (after a long Saturday morning run). The wait staff always acknowledge us and even try to anticipate our order.

    I say if the meat tasted good, eat it! I’m probably biased since I’ve been eating meat again for the past year, but I don’t foresee myself stopping anytime in the future. I sound like mother when I say this: MODERATION IS THE KEY.

  2. January 24, 2010 2:00 am

    That’s a good question, and what’s weird is that I don’t know the answer.

    We like Souplantation, but that’s a chain. I hate to pick a chain for our favorite…. Hm. I’ll get back to you on that one.

    Congrats on your race!!!

  3. January 24, 2010 12:37 pm

    Nice job on the 5K! And that food looks amazing. One of my local favorite places to eat is called Jauno’s. It’s an authentic mexican place and I love it. Actually the first thing I fell in love with isn’t even on the menu anymore but every time I go, I ask them about it and they say “sure, we can make that”… love it!

Leave a Reply

