Skip to content

15 out and 15 back

January 24, 2010

I was such a grump last night that nothing sounded good for dinner so we decided to order pizza.  Since Domino’s is the closest place that will deliver we decided to go ahead and try their new, redesigned pizza for dinner.  I wasn’t sure what I expected but it actually was an improvement over their old pizza.  I was pleased to see so many veggie toppings and their cheese and sauce were definitely better.

I wanted a little more than just pizza for dinner so I added some Sabra roasted red pepper hummus and Mary’s gone crackers to my plate.  Yum!

We spent the rest of the evening playing Wii and then went to sleep around 9:30.  Such party animals, I know!

I was up with the sun again this morning, probably because we are going to sleep so early at night, and Carl asked if we were going to go for a run.  I didn’t really want to, despite the 10 miles I had scheduled for my half marathon in a few weeks, so we decided on just going out for a 30 minute run – 15 minutes out and 15 minutes back.  While it certainly wasn’t 10 miles, heck 30 minutes isn’t even 3 miles for me, I was really happy that I got my booty out there at all!

It was a lovely, cool morning and felt AWESOME to be running with Carl.  I tried to keep up with him for the first mile and then had to drop back as he took off.  We made it to the marshy part of our scenic run right at the turn-around point and then decided to stop, sit and enjoy the wonderful breeze and sound of nature.  Eventually we decided to head home and I totally booked it, but was probably only able to run that quickly because of our rest.  Either way I’ll take it!

Today’s stats –
Distance: 2.66 miles
Time: 30 minutes
Mile 1 – 11:28
Mile 2 – 10:49 (YES!)
.66 nubbin – 7:43
Pace – 11:18’/mi
Best pace – 8:37’/mi

We stretched and then Carl got set making breakfast – scrambled eggs and cheese topped with tomatoes, potatoes, sweet potatoes, onions and peppers.  I decided to save the toast for later and add some pb and jelly but then I was full so it went uneaten.

No one escapes the camera’s eye 🙂

While he cooked I made our menu and grocery list for the week and hopefully we’ll stick to it a little better than we did last week!
Monday – Winter squash with spiced couscous (yes, again since we still haven’t made it!)
Tuesday – Portobello mushroom stroganoff
Wednesday – Sicilian lentil soup
Thursday – Stuffed peppers
Friday – Spicy corn cakes with black beans
Saturday – Grillin’ out (maybe with James and Allison)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 12:15 pm

    We had Dominos the other night too. It is MUCH better! I love Sabra hummus 🙂

  2. January 24, 2010 12:40 pm

    Pizza does not usually grab my attention unless it’s homemade, or the veggie pizza with saurkrat from papa johns, but dang girl, that stuff looks good. 🙂

    Nice job on the 15 out and 15 back!

  3. January 24, 2010 2:26 pm

    Mmmm.. pizza looks good!

    Great job on your run!

  4. January 24, 2010 3:56 pm

    You’re the first person I know to try the new Domino’s…it does look better.

    I was feeling all lethargic and cloudy this morning so followed you in a 30 minute run. You’re so inspirational!

Leave a Reply

