Skip to content

One run, one squash and one bridge

January 27, 2010

Randomness (is that a word?) is the theme of tonight’s post because it’s been a tough week.  Nothing specific has been rough, but lots of little things adding up make me thankful that tomorrow I am taking a planning day and will sequester myself in the planning room (in my jeans, hoodie and sneakers!) to flush out the details of our next unit and grade a mountain of papers.

I’ve done really well with running this week and really feel like I’m back on track and making some progress!

Monday’s post was supposed to be titled “2 in 22(:38)” but clearly that didn’t happen so I’ll tell you about it tonight.  I came home and really didn’t want to run.  I’d left my new lululemon running pants at work and despite having several other pants to go out in I pouted, ate too many cookies and told myself to suck it up and get out there.  I had five miles on my schedule but wasn’t feelin’ it so I told myself that I would try to run two miles in 22 minutes – and I almost did!

Distance – 2 miles
Mile 1 – 11:10
Mile 2 – 11:24
Time – 22:35
Pace – 11:18’/mi
Fastest pace – 9:02’/mi

For dinner we had acorn squash on the menu but because we didn’t have any couscous we couldn’t make the spiced couscous recipe from our Williams-Sonoma vegetarian cookbook.  We improvised and made stuffed acorn squash with shrimp and rice from the January/February ’10 issue of Clean Eating Magazine.  It was really good but I think next time I’ll leave off the bread crumb topping because I’m not the biggest fan of them.

Tonight I met up with Kristin and Lynn to run the Vilano Bridge, which I haven’t run since before the Nike Women’s Marathon in October.  It was a really nice change of scenery and a wonderful challenge that I’m excited to incorporate into my weekly training runs again.

I was super excited to wear the new Wunder Under Lululemon pants that I bought on Sunday but I have to be honest, I don’t know what it was but they would not stay up!  I started running and they kept sliding down my hips and I had to keep tugging down my shirt and pulling up my pants – it was awful!  I know I had a similar experience with the running crop pants the first time I wore them, but these don’t have a drawstring to tighten them.  I ended up tucking my shirt into the pants and that seemed to help although it was not a pretty sight.  I’m hoping to try them again with a different shirt to see if it will be any better and if that still doesn’t work I’m going to see if I can take them back and exchange them for something else.  I’m so bummed because they are super cute so fingers crossed that something works out.

Kristin left Lynn and I in the dust but she and I really enjoyed each others company.  Running up the bridge was really a challenge and I found myself encouraging Lynn, who typically walks up a least a small portion of bridges, which helped us both make it up without stopping!  On the way back over I could tell that I was getting tired but I kept us focused on our progress and making it to the top and before we knew it we were on the other side and running down towards our starting point.  I was pretty spent by this point and decided to listen to my iPod.  Once I had the music going I felt myself getting re-energized and I was really surprised at how much better I was able to do once I was movin’ my feet to the beat.

Lynn left shortly after we got back to our cars and Kristin, Carl and I decided to go to Flavors for dinner.  No pictures, but the food was good and the company was even better!

Today’s stats
Distance – 3.58 miles
Time – 43:03
Mile 1-2 – 24:17
Mile 3.1 – 13:34
.48 nubbin – 5:10
Pace – 12:02’/mi
Best pace – 9:00’/mi (in the last .48 nubbin!)

Tomorrow I’m going to BodyPump with Lynn.  I’m not sure how it will go so wish me luck!

Do you always run in the same places or do you vary your runs? I usually run in two different places depending on the length of the run, but I really enjoy adding the bridge into the routine.  I think we are going to try to make bridge runs a weekly event.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 9:56 pm

    Nice run! This time of year, I usually run on the treadmill… I know most people find it dreadful, but I actually don’t mind it. However, when I do run outside, I need to get better about finding new and different running routes… like running along the river. I will have to remember that!

  2. January 27, 2010 10:34 pm

    1. That acorn squash looks yummy.
    2. Big bummer about the new pants. Can you wear them for non-exercise? Like to work with a long shirt?
    3. Awesome job on the bridge…ha, what’s with those goofy “lap” times?
    4. Always run close to home, but sometimes change direction and route. If I want to focus on the (little) bridge I may drive 2 miles down the road and park closer.

  3. January 27, 2010 10:37 pm

    a) Randomness is totally a word

    b) WAY TO GO on your two miles! Nice pace!!!

    c) I try to vary my runs some what. I think I need to do hills more often, a bridge sounds perfect.

    ( I was going to do 1,2, 3 until I almost hit submit before I realized that Sharon had said that too)…can’t be a copy cat! 😀

  4. January 28, 2010 3:52 pm

    I think “randomness” is a word… if it isn’t, I still used it in my blog yesterday anyway!

    For short runs, I run in my neighborhood, but for longer runs, I venture out around the town.

Trackbacks

  1. Running for me « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

