Skip to content

A relaxing Sunday

January 31, 2010

After our super busy Friday and Saturday we decided to take it easy today.  I did tons of laundry (and put it all away!), cleaned up the house (how is it that my stuff always ends up all over the place by the end of the week?!), went to the grocery store, finished a book (The Youngest Templar: Keeper of the Grail – a great young adult book), napped and spent some quality time with Carl.

Breakfast today was super yummy because it had ham in it!  While I was vegetarian for the last few months the only meat that I really “missed” was bacon and ham.  Carl thought I was super hungry this morning because he totally piled the food on my plate.  I only ate about half of the potatoes and am looking forward to them for breakfast sometime this week.

Lunch was a tuna wrap mixed with salsa, jalapeno cheese and spinach.  On the side we had carrots, hummus and some veggie chips from Publix.  At first I didn’t like the veggie chips, they were a little more sweet than savory, but after I got used to the sweetness they were really good!

For dinner I made a recipe from the Jan/Feb ’10 Clean Eating magazine called Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff.  It was really good and super light because it used pureed tofu (not as bad as it sounds, I promise!) and light sour cream.  We altered the recipe slightly because we didn’t have white mushrooms and we also halved the recipe to make 4 servings instead of 8.

Last week I decided to really reign in my eating and go back to Weight Watchers.  I know there are cons about following “weight loss programs” but I really like the changes that Weight Watchers has made as they focus a lot more on “filling foods” (whole grains, fruits, veggies, proteins) instead of more processed foods.  Sure they make a ton of money off of their food products, which may not always have the healthiest ingredients (ie. highly processed sugars and such) but I take the good with the bad and make it work for me.

Anyways, all that was for this awesome recipe that I got out of their Weight Watchers Weekly magazine called Oatmeal-Raisin Bites.  These things are SO GOOD and while I probably could stand at the counter and shovel them in I was actually satisfied after eating only two.

I think the thing that I liked the most about this recipe is that it actually called for butter and sugar – not splenda!  It even suggested subbing out the raisins for walnuts to change up the recipe a little bit.  It actually made me crave oatmeal for breakfast tomorrow morning.  I swear that when I fill my body with good, healthy food it craves it! I’m not saying that I won’t ever stop craving chips but finding healthier alternatives can be just as, if not more, satisfying.

What are your favorite cookies? I think mine are oatmeal raisin but I also love sugar cookies.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 10:21 pm

    Sounds like you got a lot accomplished this weekend! Those oatmeal raisin bites look so good! My favorite is oatmeal chocolate chip 🙂

  2. February 1, 2010 6:34 pm

    I think I like any cookie!

    For the past couple hours I’ve been trying to decide if I’m nauseous because I’m getting sick or because I need to eat, even though I didn’t have an appetite. After looking at your photos I now can determine it’s the latter. Your meals yesterday look delicious.

Trackbacks

  1. Crockpot cookin’ « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

