Skip to content

Bullet style

January 31, 2010

Hi bloggy friends!  I’m sorry to have disappeared for the last few days but it feels like I’m just now getting a chance to breathe from our busy weekend.  Unfortunately I have little to no pictures of anything that we’ve done so I think I’m going to do an update bullet style.

  • Good times with friends – Friday night Carl and I met up with some of my friends from work to celebrate the end of the week.  It seemed like everyone was stressed out a bit, probably because it was our first full week back since Christmas break.  It was really nice to decompress and spend time with some of my favorite people although I made some very poor food choices and stayed up way too late, and by late I mean I stayed up until nearly 11:30 – we are such the party animals!
  • “Run 5 to Keep Kids Alive” – Saturday morning I wasn’t feeling all that great (junk food+cold that I’ve been fighting all week+not enough water) so instead of getting up and attending a meeting that I should have gone to (wasn’t mandatory, but would have been good for me to go) I turned off the alarm and got a few more hours of sleep.  Carl and I did muster up enough energy to participate in the “Run 5 to Keep Kids Alive” race that we’d signed up for earlier in the week.  It was a benefit for a local children’s hospital and it felt really good to run for such an awesome cause even though the race itself was much more difficult than I thought it would be (junk food+cold that I’ve been fighting all week+not enough water).  I think my favorite part of the race was that it was actually part of a 55 mile ultra marathon.  There were six runners who started at 3am Saturday morning and ran the five mile loop ELEVEN times in the rainy, cold Florida weather.  I think they were my motivation to go – if they could do 55 miles than I could suck it up and do five!  I have no pictures of anything from this race, not even me with my race number!  I was so proud of Carl for finishing strong and pushing through to the end!
  • Gate River Run – we are officially registered!  Last year Carl and I did the 5k charity race associated with the 15k championship race and it is so for me because it was my first ever 5k.  This year we are both doing the 15k and while I know that it will be challenging with the three bridges (two of which I ran over in the race on Saturday) I can’t wait!  Sharon and her boyfriend Matt are actually coming up to stay with us this weekend, which I’m also really looking forward to.

Which races are you excited about this season?  Are you doing any new ones or sticking with ones that you’ve done in the past?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 6:29 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out. I’m super excited too.

    I’m doing a mixture of repeat and new races this spring…in fact I just realized that starting with the new year they go: new, repeat, new, repeat, new, repeat, new. That also means I’m doing a lot more races than ever before. I hope I don’t get burnt out but that they continue to be fun.

Leave a Reply

