Skip to content

Crockpot cookin’

February 1, 2010

Last night after we made the Clean Eating Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff I was left with a nearly full container of beef broth.  After reading Hilary’s glowing reviews of this onion soup I knew just what to do with it.  I prepped as much as I could last night so it wouldn’t take me too long this morning since we all know I’m not a morning person (ha!).  I cut up the onions, opened the bottle of chardonnay (I didn’t have any cooking sherry), washed the crockpot because it’d been a while since we’d used it last, and got out all of my measuring stuff so I wouldn’t be hunting for it.  I really enjoyed putting dinner together this morning because I knew that I wouldn’t have to worry about it tonight – and this week is busy so it was nice not to fuss over dinner!

When I arrived home I was greeted with the lovely aroma of onions and broth – so good!  When I lifted the lid I was really surprised to see that this (taken from Hilary’s dinner last week)…

…to this!

Yum!  I added two pieces of baguette that I picked up from Publix this afternoon (since the onion soup wasn’t originally on our meal plan for this week) that I put under the broiler for a few minutes.  I also added a few slices of gruyere cheese (about 1 oz.) and stuck it all back into the oven for a few minutes until the cheese was all melty and delish looking.

Tada!

This was simply amazing and we will totally be making it again!  I think I may have to do a bit more digging around on A Year of Slow Cooking since the weeks are getting more and more packed with fun things.  I’m off to celebrate the close of Monday by watching The Bachelor with the girls and eating some of my oatmeal-raisin bites.

Which is your least favorite day of the week? I’m never a fan of Monday because it’s the start of the weekly grind, but getting together with the girls give me something to look forward to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 9:08 pm

    I think french onion soup is probably one of my favorites. I love the sweet onions, bread, and cheese. So yummy 🙂

  2. February 1, 2010 9:09 pm

    Mondays are very hard for me. It’s just such a struggle to get back into my work week routine … yuck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

