Skip to content

Short run

February 2, 2010

Many of you know that I’ve really been struggling getting my miles in for the half marathon that I’m going to be running in just 2.5 weeks (holy goodness!).  Training for long races has really taken the fun out of running for me, unfortunately, but I’ve been trying to make my runs more fun by telling myself that as long as I get outside and go for a run I’ll still be better off than if I was sitting on the couch.

Tonight was definitely one of those nights, although time was more of an issue since I’m about to leave to meet up with the girls to celebrate Ashley’s birthday (a few months late!) at YesYouCanvas! Knowing that I had to run today but only had about 20 minutes to spare I put on my running clothes and was out the door as soon as I got home.  Turns out that I beat my fastest two mile time by 13 seconds!

Today’s stats:
Distance: 2 miles
Time – 22:25
Mile 1 – 11:24.9
Mile 2 – 11:00
Pace – 11:14

Do you think that training for something in particular can take the enjoyment out of running?  If so, how do you try to find joy in your running?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 7:00 pm

    Yes! When I was in the thick of marathon training I followed the training an without exception. If it said 16 miles with 6 at mp, I did it. No matter how tired, sore, hungry, bored…
    This time around Im not afraid to mix it up with cross training or to rearrange days to better suit my life. If I miss a mike here or there Im nit worried, because I know I can do it.
    Hang in there, you’ll find a balance that is just right for you!

  2. February 2, 2010 8:05 pm

    I think training for something could take the fun out of it. I know for me, it helps to change things up a bit, whether it’s changing from the treadmill to the streets, or incorporating sprints into a short run, it works for me. I also know that sometimes we just go through those funks and when we’re busy and trying to enjoy a good social life, it can take the fun out of “getting out there and running”.

  3. February 2, 2010 9:26 pm

    I’m sure it can be disappointing when you try to reach certain goals and not make them with training. Even if it’s small ones. Definitely don’t dwell on those little things.

  4. February 2, 2010 9:51 pm

    In reverse, I think having something I’m training for gives me the motivation to get out there and run. I don’t want to have a horrible race. I learned/reinforced some things this weekend, though, which I have yet to blog about (and it will be a few days before I have a chance to really sit down and write) about not being too focused on the time, but rather enjoying the surroundings I’m in. In other words, nobody cares that I came in at 2:31 instead of my goal of 2:25, and in the end I ran a pace that was more comfortable and allowed me to enjoy downtown and Miami Beach.

  5. February 2, 2010 10:51 pm

    I think training for something in particular is the only thing that keeps me accountable. I find the training fun, but that’s just me. The compliments I get from people is what makes it fun I suppose.

    However, I do long for the days of short runs and not looking at my watch to check my pace.

  6. Nadine permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:39 am

    I’m training for my first half, and I’ve implemented a reward system. A prize for each week that I follow the schedule and a larger prize at the end–like maybe a trip to my favorite spa. I’m on day 3, so far, so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

