Skip to content

A week later…

February 12, 2010

Oh lordy it’s finally Friday and I’m finally able to catch my breath from this wonderfully busy week!  I’ve discovered so many new and exciting things this week (and the later part of last week) that I knew I had to come up for air and let you all know what’s been going on.

Exciting thing #1 – body pump

I discovered a new class at the gym – body pump!  For those of you who aren’t familiar with body pump, it’s described as “A…barbell class that strengthens your entire body by challenging all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like squats, presses, lifts and curls.”  I love the class because it is so different than running and aerobics yet offers an amazing workout.  Even better is that I’m already starting to feel stronger and see some more definition in my legs and arms after only doing a few classes.  I even went to the 5:30am class this Wednesday morning and felt so chipper the entire day – and I’m totally not a morning person!  If you have a chance to attend this class at your gym I’d highly recommend it!

Exciting thing #2 – amazing times with friends

Last weekend Carl and I met with our friends Lisa, Jonathan and their daughter, Anna down in Orlando.  It’d been about a year since we’d seen them last and even though we have plans to go up and have a girl’s weekend with them in June I couldn’t pass up a chance to see them earlier.  Carl and I arrived late-ish on Friday night and then went to Sea World on Saturday until they left to catch their flight.  I’d never been to a theme park with a small child (Anna is two) so it was neat to see things through her eyes – and to watch her at the Shamu show was truly an experience.

Lisa and me

Exciting thing #3 – amazing food!

While we were in Orlando we decided to go ahead and celebrate Valentine’s Day and splurged at a restaurant in Pointe Orlando called Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar.  Can I just tell you how amazing this place is?!  I swear it was the best Cuban food E-V-E-R and I highly recommend it if you get a chance to eat there.  We ordered the 15 tastes of Cuba which was basically a sample of 15 of their most popular dishes and while it was a little pricey, it was totally worth it!

It was pretty dark in the restaurant, so please excuse my slightly blurry pictures.

Appetizers – pressed Cuban bread with mango butter, ceviche, black bean hummus with plantain and yuca chips, chicken empanadas, guava BBQ ribs

Entrees – grilled skirt steak with lemon and onion sauce, sugarcane-skewered jumbo shrimp with mango BBQ glaze, salmon with honey-mango glaze, salad

Side dishes – fried plantains, black beans and rice, and mustard greens and tomatoes

Desserts – flan with berries, rice pudding, chocolate suffle tart

Seriously they had to roll us both out of the restaurant because we were so full!  Since the meal was served as different courses it didn’t look like that much food and I didn’t think we’d get so full.  I tried not to eat too much of the things that I didn’t like “as much”, but man it was all so delish that it was hard to only take a few bites of things.  Yum!

Exciting thing #4 – being a Florida resident has perks

Since we are Florida residents we decided to take advantage of the $99 special that Disney World is offering right now – four parks for $99 and we just couldn’t say no!  We went to Hollywood Studios (formerly MGM) while we were in town on Sunday and it was FREEZING!  I knew the temperatures were going to drop, but I wasn’t expecting it to be so cold and windy.

Exciting thing $5 – celebrating amazing people

Last was the Teacher of the Year celebration in my county and it was held at TPC Sawgrass clubhouse.  Each school selects a teacher of the year and a rookie teacher of the year (someone who has been teaching in the county three years or less) and last night we celebrated Linda and Ashley.

The girls - Rachel, Kristin, Hilary, me and Ashley

Ashley with her parents

Hilary and Kristin

Unfortunately this is the only good picture I have of Linda with her husband, Olen.  They are the ones smiling at the camera in the picture.  I know Ashley got some shots though and I may come back and put one in once they are uploaded.

The evening was just beautiful and I wish I would have taken more pictures – I didn’t even get any of the amazing food!

Well that’s all I’ve got.  I’m so excited for the long weekend – although it does mean that 26.2 with Donna is next weekend and I’m so not prepared!

Do you have any plans for this weekend?  Are you doing anything special for Valentine’s Day? We aren’t since we celebrated in Orlando last weekend but I’m not a big “Valentine’s Day” person.  It is my mom’s birthday though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 8:25 pm

    Girl, you’ve been busy!

    No special plans for VD here. Going out for dinner and drinks, maybe a little dancing tomorrow night for a friends birthday! Other than that, not much more on the schedule besides a couple good workouts and PAPERWORK. lol.

  2. February 13, 2010 11:05 am

    Yes. Busy. I’m hoping to a lot of resting and catching up on things this weekend.

    Since my parents were suppose to be in town, we have no plans for V-day, and Matt had planned on getting a lot of school work done while I hang out with my parents….so who knows what will happen.

Leave a Reply

