Skip to content

Good stuff

February 13, 2010

I promised myself that if I woke up early enough to go to body pump at 8:30am this morning without setting an alarm that I needed to get my booty there – and I did!  I think I enjoy exercising in the morning much more than after work but I don’t think I can bring myself to get up at 5am every day.  We’ll see!

When I got home Carl made our usual Saturday breakfast, eggs and potatoes.  Yum!  I passed on the toast though.

I took a nap, ate some lunch (oatmeal with apples and cinnamon), meal planned and took a much needed trip to the grocery store.  Carl wasn’t feeling all that great this afternoon so instead of making the dinner we planned, we decided to shelve it until tomorrow.  We both had cans of soup, Carl had chicken noodle and I had southwestern chicken, made by Muir Glen.  They were both so good and I’d highly recommend them!

I also discovered a new favorite – sunflower butter.  On lordy! I think this is my favorite type of nut butter.  I’m not the biggest fan of sunflower seeds in general, so even though I’ve seen sunflower butter on blogs for a while I was hesitant to try it out.  I’m so glad that I did!

As good as the soup and sunflower butter were they did not keep me full very long – or maybe I was just thinking too much about the peanut butter puffins that I had in the pantry.  I decided to have a bowl (and added some warm cinnamon H2H) to try them out and decided that they are too good to buy on a regular basis.  I could seriously have kept pouring bowl after bowl.  Dangerous.

We are having a really low key evening, I’m catching up on blogs (I have less than 100 posts left in my google reader now!) and Carl is flipping through channels.  I have a 10 mile run planned for tomorrow but it’s only supposed to get up to 56 degrees so I don’t have to get up super early.  I haven’t run 10 miles in a while so I have no expectations for how it will go – I just need to get out there.  Only six more days until 26.2 (13.1 really) with Donna!

Do you have any races coming up that you’re excited about? I’m not super excited about 26.2 with Donna next weekend but I can’t wait for the Gate River Run in March.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 12:01 pm

    Interesting that you like sunflower butter despite not liking sunflower seeds. I found out last spring that I’m not a fan.

    Good luck on your long run. I’m scrapping mine this week. I’m suppose to do A1A (half) next Saturday, but like you I’m not super excited. I was doing it because Matt wanted to, and now he’s still has a little limp from Miami and won’t be running. I have yet to decide what I’m going to do….

  2. February 14, 2010 3:01 pm

    I almost bought sunflower butter the other day! I’m too cheap though haha! I love body pump but I understand how getting up at 5am can be unmotivating 🙂

  3. February 14, 2010 5:28 pm

    I really really really hope to be doing the Fargo Half Marathon in May, but I haven’t made any decisions on that yet. I still haven’t run more than 5 miles at one time… for months!

    I know it can be very hard to get up in the morning and workout. I got off my routine of doing so and would beat myself up for not getting there in the morning when I would try again. So, I told myself, one day this week, and hopfully two days next week. I have been able to do it 2 or 3 times each week for the past couple of weeks and feel pretty good about it! I hope to get 3-4 mornings out of the 5 this week!

Leave a Reply

