Skip to content

Baking and breakfast

February 14, 2010

Happy Valentine’s Day blogland!  Like I said in my post last night, I’m not a big Valentine’s Day person, but I think it is nice to do something a little extra special for loved ones today.  It’s also my mom’s birthday today and I was so glad that my card got to her yesterday!  I’m notorious for sending cards late, or not at all!, even though I have the best intentions of getting them there on time.  Happy Birthday, Bonky! I hope you have a wonderfully fantastic day today, even though you are at work.

I woke up this morning to sunlight streaming into our window which was a much welcomed change from the dreary, cloudy skies that we’d been having for the last few days.  It’s still cold, only 36 degrees!, so Carl and I are enjoying a morning of baking and breakfast before we head out for the day.  I wanted to try the Apple Drop Biscuit recipe from last month’s Clean Eating magazine so when we didn’t know what to make for breakfast I quickly suggested them.

The recipe made 24 small-ish biscuits that had a very lovely flavor.  They weren’t too sweet so I think they would be perfect with some agave or nut butter on them.  Even better is that they are only 1 Weight Watcher point (or 3 points for two) so they make for a good snack.

In addition to the apple drop biscuits Carl made some scrambled eggs with cheese and I topped mine with some diced tomato and spinach and added a side of grapes.  I noticed that I didn’t have that many fruits/veggies yesterday so I wanted to incorporate more today.

Even though it’s still chilly out Carl and I are going to spend the day walking some trails at a nearby park.  I know I should be running my 10 miles today, but I talked Carl into doing two 5 mile loops at the trails with me instead.  Hey, 10 miles is 10 miles and company makes it even better!

Have a fantastic Sunday 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 5:09 pm

    I actually forget it was V-day until I was at yoga this morning and the owner said “Happy Valentine’s Day” as I was signing in. As I was setting up my mat I chuckled at what a non-romantic I am – leaving Matt in bed with a whining dog and before I left told him about ants in the kitchen.

    I want to check out this clean eating mag you always talk about. Do you know where I can find one on a newsstand (before committing to a subscription)?

    Hope you enjoyed the trails today. It amazes me how much colder it is in north Florida.

  2. February 14, 2010 6:14 pm

    have a great Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

